We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can recommend to everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coconut House

Save Saved
You added Hotel Coconut House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Coconut House
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Urb. La Trinidad, del Super La Trinidad 100 Sur y 350 oeste, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
SoCal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“can recommend to everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Over some years I stayed there a couple of times & it was always a pleasure. Friendly, helpful owners Heike & Rainer run a cozy place with very nice, clean rooms and are open for any questions about the country. A very quiet location. Great breakfast-buffett. Rainer bakes his own bread! I can recommend Coconut House to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
45
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We used Coconut House for 4 weeks as our base for going off and exploring different parts of the country, and as on a couple of occasions we had weight restrictions on domestic flights we very much appreciated being able to leave part of our luggage at the hotel.
The owners Heike and Reiner are German, but both speak English as well as Spanish. We have travelled a great deal, but never before have we ever felt more at ease, more competently advised, more helped along in every respect than by them. They bend over backwards for their guests - phoning reliable taxis, describing the way to good eateries, giving advice about the quirks of driving in Costa Rica, checking flight times, if necessary rebooking flights etc. They run their hotel on strictly eco-friendly lines, so rubbish is carefully separated, and only biological cleaning materials used.
The hotel is small with only 6 rooms, which are kept spotlessly clean. Everything works, which is not something you can always expect in Central America. The rooms are furnished with the basic necessities, and the overhead ventilators keep the air pleasantly moving on hot nights. There is no air-conditioning , which might be a problem for some people.
Coconut House is well located in a side-road in a quiet residential area opposite a small park. It is about 20 minutes by taxi from the airport, and there is a bus stop to San Jose, the capital, just round the corner. A modern well-stocked supermarket with an ATM is a bare 10 minutes on foot.
Breakfast is buffet-style, and is plentiful and good. The cook comes in most evenings a week and prepares a very tasty dinner (local cuisine) at a very moderate price.
There is a quiet, beautifully kept little garden with wonderful tropical plants (and birds!) behind the house, and we enjoyed a bit of quality time there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Heike the owner was so helpful and accommodating. I had planned on staying there with just my husband but due to flight cancellations my sister was with us also. At the last minute Heike was able to rearrange and accommodate all of us. The hotel is great a short stay when going or coming from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel twice. It is a great place when you have an early flight out of, or late flight into, C.R. It is a 10 minute, $6 taxi ride from the airport. Breakfast is included, & dinners can be ordered for $10. The hotel is clean, secure and very quiet. The German owner is pleasant, helpful and speaks English.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed here the night before our morning flight home from San Jose. It was small but clean and comfortable. Theres nothing much more special about it than that. It was basic and convenient for 1 night, but I wouldnt have liked to stay here as part of a longer holiday. When we got up early for our flight, the nightman (who I think was local) greeted us with a smile and made us (much welcome) mugs of coffee for while we waited for our taxi which was nice.
The price for a double room with private bathroom including breakfast and tax was US $37 so its a real bargain.

One thing worth mentioning- the owner has about 6 cats that wander about the property so if you are allergic, make sure you pack your antihistamines!

There was a cheap take-away place nearby (5-10 min walk) where you could also eat in, so we went there for dinner. The food was good but greasy and definitely no frills! To go to somewhere decent to eat you would have to get a taxi out.

It was US $7/8 for a taxi to the airport.

One thing we hadn't realised is that you have to pay an airport fee of $26 EACH to leave Costa Rica. I had assumed that charges like that were included in your flight price- not so (at least not with Continental Airlines). If you pay this charge by credit card, they put it through as a cash advance fee (with the huge charges associated), so make sure you have some spare dollars to exit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip to Costa Rica and two nights at the end mostly because it was reasonably priced and fairly close to the airport. We ended up finding this place one of the best bargains in Costa Rica and a delightful place to relax for breakfast (buffet-style fruit, juice and toast, included) and dinner.

This small hotel (more like a bed and breakfast) attracts quite a few Europeans, partly because the owners are German. At dinner (optional, but well worth the modest cost) our final night, we listened to guests speaking German, French, Spanish, Catalan and English -- it was a great place to meet and chat with people from all over.

Although the home/hotel is obviously an older building, it is kept immaculately clean. The rooms are simple, and there's not much here in terms of extras other than wireless Internet. The Coconut House is in a safe and quiet residential area within walking distance of downtown Alajuela, and about 10-15 minutes via taxi from the airport. The hosts are very helpful with providing travel information and arranging transportation or tours. If we ever return to Costa Rica, we'd definitely stay here again at the beginning or end of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

The hotel is located in a residential part of Alajuele opposite to a small city park, 15 minutes from the International Airport of San José. Great for your first and last nights in Costa Rica. Inexpensive. Very friendly owners. Another way to see real Costa Rica. A place to meet Europeans either living in that country or coming there periodically.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Coconut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coconut House

Also Known As:
Hotel Coconut House Costa Rica/Alajuela
Address: Urb. La Trinidad, del Super La Trinidad 100 Sur y 350 oeste, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Coconut House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Coconut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coconut House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.