We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, not top service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DePalma's

DePalma's
2300 University Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
(205) 759-1879
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 239 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Late Night
Brandon, MS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good food, not top service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I loved the environment, it was cozy, but for a nice spot, the service wasn't pro level. Always serve ladies first, that didn't happen when delivering or adding pepper on salads. Next, my husband's lasagna was brought to table at least 6-8 minutes before mine. He waited for mine while his got cold. The food was tasty, I just wish the servers were better trained to make a complete dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    46
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“2013 Italian, in 1920s setting...in ALABAMA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location is 'downtown' Tuscaloosa.On the corner of the street, you can almost feel the 'old days'...Walk into the 'lobby' which also serves as the bar...couches and chairs to sit and wait..So,make a RESERVATION!
The FOOD.The pasta is homemade. Very delicious.The sauce depends on what they make that night.Light? Cheese?Veggies? Its' ALL FRESH and delicious.The bread is crusty .The garlic knots are exccellent.The wine selection is good.
Coffee very good. Dessert varies.This is a wonderful location for family , dates, friends.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“One of the best in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

First off, expect a one to two hour wait. DePalma's is always busy (for good reason).

Both quality and value are excellent, and I have never had a negative service experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wide selection of beer & wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ate at the bar since I was alone; they don't take reservations so you have to be flexible. Had the mushroom ravioli which was great! There is lots of parking around the restaurant; likely VERY BUSY when Univ Alabama is having an event (eg football).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“One of the best in Tuscaloosa; Five being the other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

While Tuscaloosa has grown a lot and improved a lot since i went to college there in the mid 1980's, there are very few good restaurants, however, DePalma's and Five are 2 great restaurants. Nothing fancy, but just good food. I had eaten at DePalmas in Athens, GA when my now wife was a student there, so I was familiar with DePalma's.

I had lunch there with my son and a friend of his and his friend's dad. I had the trout special, the eggplant appetizer, we split some stuffed breadsticks and i had a side of Risotto. It was all very good I would say the grilled eggplant was a little dry and could have used some olive oil. The trout with capers was excellent as was the Risotto and the Cesar Salad.

They have a nice wine selection with some excellent wines from Italy. We didn't have dessert since we were pretty full.

Overall a great place to go!!! Wish Tuscaloosa would get more places like this and Five.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DePalma's also viewed

 

Been to DePalma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DePalma's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.