We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian flare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DePalma's

DePalma's
2300 University Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
(205) 759-1879
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 222 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night
Detroit
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Italian flare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The wait was well worth it! House made sauces, pastas, pizza and soups are a culinary adventure. The atmosphere is vibrant and centrally located in the University area makes it a real find

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    56
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Food was underwhelming. Sauce was watery - pasta was dry - dish underseasoned - artichokes were hard & flavorless. Bleh. Not worth an hour wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good find in T Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Went because Trip Advisor had it ranked #1. It certainly proved worthy of its ranking. Were on road trip to go get daughter in college in South Carolina from Texas and Tuscaloosa is a good stopping point. Arrived at 9:30 and service was friendly and food yummy and hot. Good atmosphere and love college town pricing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little Italy in ALABAMA?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited last week April 2013. This was a very quaint restaurant with extremely prompt service. The atmosphere was that of a truly authentic Italian restaurant. The Calzone was absolutely the best that I have ever had. Be prepared for no Cocktails though only Beer and Wine is offered. If in the area please give them a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Amazing italian with great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I were traveling trough Tuscaloosa and decided to find a place for early dinner. I love italian so based on tripadvisor decided to try DePalma's. This restaurant surpass any and all expectations. The atmosphere is rustic layback. The service is good. The prices are great. The food is awesome; my husband had a baked pasta and I had the calzone... both very tasty and delicious. We enjoy this place that much that the next day on our way back we stopped for lunch to try the pizza that was perfection! Don't believe any bad reviews and give this place a try... you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DePalma's also viewed

 

Been to DePalma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DePalma's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.