We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm elegance and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evangeline's

Evangeline's
1653 Mcfarland Blvd N, Tuscaloosa, AL
+1 205-752-0830
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 245 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Calm elegance and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have visited Evangeline's three times, once for lunch and twice for dinner. Lunch and one dinner were for 2 people. The 3rd meal was a party of 10. Each time was just lovely. The decor is nothing like anywhere else in Tuscaloosa. The restaurant is in the back of the Galleria Shopping center off McFarland Blvd on the way to Northport. I had no idea what to expect the first time I went for lunch. I had gotten a coupon from a site called POSH specific to Tuscaloosa and Birmingham or would never have known about it. The walls are a lovely cool, blue-gray with windows all around hung with antique lanterns. The tables have crisp white linens and low candles. It is charming and relaxed and very elegant. The menu has items like crabcake salad and risottos along with heavier meals but is more on the light side. Do not miss the fried green tomato appetizer if it is in season. Utterly original and delicious. They also have a chef's choice bread pudding. I have had two kinds and neither the chocolate chip nor the cinnamon were anything but great.The service and food was excellent for each meal, even the party of 10 on a very busy football weekend in Tuscaloosa. I strongly advise that you call early for reservations on football weekends. They do not participate in Open Table and you must call. They will not answer often since they are small and busy but will call you back with a confirmation if you leave your details and a contact number.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Tuscaloosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

In town for graduation and went here for a special dinner. Great atmosphere and excellent food. They didn't have the wine we wanted, but the substitution the waiter recommended was delicious. Had the fried green tomatoes for appetizer and shrimp & grits for entree. Traditional southern dishes, but carried out at a higher level. Highly recommend for special occasions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Elegant surroundings, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our book club met at Evangeline's this week for a special treat and our book discussion of William Faulkner's, Light in August. We passed on appetizers, which sounded mouth-watering. I had a cup of tomato basil soup and a "princess" portion of shrimp and grits. Every mouthful of food was a treat to my taste buds! Entrees here are priced from about 12 to about 20 dollars. I believe you get what you pay for, and this food was worth the price. Outside seating is available when weather permits. Service is excellent and the atmosphere elegant and relaxing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Out-of-the-way location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Well, the location is sort-of hidden, and to be honest, the decor is attractive. Entrees attempt to be fancy, but sacrifice quality. Dining area is noisily close to the bar.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_S_Evangelines, Public Relations Manager at Evangeline's, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the decor in our restaurant! We are always excited to see what our decorators have in store for the seasons. I hope you will give us another opportunity to improve the dining experience you shared with us back in October 2012. Football season does tend to bring with it excited patrons, but our guest generally enjoy a quiet atmosphere. Please mention this post on your return visit and we will do our best to accommodate you with an ideal dining experience here at Evangeline's.

Thanks,
Kori Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere, Food OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Service was excellent for the large group we had. It is a quiet, well appointed restaurant. Appetizers were delicious, particularly the pear and cheese pizza, was delicious. The house Piont Noir was delicious. My only complaint was that the dish I ordered was $18.95 and was an airline breast (very small), terrible green beans (Haricot Verts - which just confuses most people). The Chicken was good just smaller than normal on a dinner menu.

The really weird thing was suddenly we were all given our checks without being asked if we would like coffee or desert. Again, the wait staff was very on point except for this. We were so surprised we just paid and left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_S_Evangelines, Public Relations Manager at Evangeline's, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review! Here at Evangeline's, we always love to hear when our patrons enjoy their dinner. I see that you did have some complaints and I hope you return so you can indulge in the five star treatment we strive to provide! I see you did not care for the Haricot Verts. These are not typical green beans - but a French version which are longer, skinner and have a more complex flavor. Might I suggest to substitute some of our roasted seasonal vegetables that is always a crowd pleaser? We hope to hear from you soon and please mention this post upon your return.

Thanks,
Kori Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evangeline's also viewed

 

Been to Evangeline's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evangeline's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.