We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn
3801 McFarland Blvd., Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
69
28
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shorter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for A-Day and we will not be staying here again. The service from the front desk was good. When we got to the room their was a horrible odor and it smelled like urine. We immediately wanted another room but was already informed that there wasnt any more rooms because they were booked solid. We sprayed the floor and room with febreeze and turned on the air. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. The walls are paper then and we could here everyones conversation. Our next door neighbors were very rude and they cursed all day and night. The bathroom was ok but very small. The water pressure wasnt any good and it took forever for the water to leave the tub when taking a shower and the toilet would take forever to flush. We definitely will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
The management and staff here at Best Western Park Plaza Motor Inn apologize for not meeting your expectations at our hotel. Should you decide to re-visit our property or any other Best Western Hotel we kindly suggest using one of the following methods for booking your reservation which should help you obtain the best room suited to your needs and expectations. Your reservations can be made at bestwestern.com or by calling the Best Western Reservation Center at 1-800-937-8376 or directly by calling the hotel itself. We have issued a full refund and hope to regain your confidence in the Best Western brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over night on our way to NOLA. It was convenient and near dining. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was probably one of the best we had on our 5 day trip! The breakfast dining area was large and clean. Pool area was clean and well kept. We saw some guests that were a little shady, and it makes it hard for housekeeping to keep up with the cigarette butts. But it was quiet and food was good and great location for some passers thru! I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Park Plaza is located hear almost everything in Tuscaloosa. We were on a trip to the University and found BW the most reasonable and centrally located of all the other options in the area. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not a fancy hotel, but a clean one. Located right off of interstate and behind O'Charley's restaurant . Close to university of Alabama ball games a short 10minute drive. Cookies and coffee available for free at night and a great breakfast . Pet friendly with snacks for the pets.
Overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet ask for a room on the back side,because there is a large field to walk them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Rooms were very nice seamed to be recently updated. Nice location easy access to interstate 20. resterants were in walking distance so didnt have to drive to eat after driving all day. staff was very freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently started to travel with our dog so now we need to be aware of dog friendly lodging. The BW did accommodate our dog for an extra $10. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice area to walk the dog. O'Charley's restaurant was next door so we were able to get carry out for dinner. The staff was friendly. This is an older motel so don't expect anything fancy. We were disappointed in the cleanliness. There was certainly room for improvement in that area. Our puppy found a popcorn kernel and since we were not eating popcorn it had to be left in the room previously. They must have recently painted the room as there were paint splatters on the carpet and furniture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn

Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd., Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#6 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza
Tuscaloosa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.