We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations are being done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3801 McFarland Blvd., Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Renovations are being done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really like this best western, they are doing renovations right now and the hotel will be even nicer. we checked it at 1 pm and they gladly accomadated our early check in. The staff is lovely and always has a smile for you. They serve a hot breakfast (biscuits, gravy, eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, pastries), the breakfast staff keeps everything clean and filled. We have 2 dogs and there is only a 10 dollar per day charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    91
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
141
51
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was there during A-DAy weekend to surprise my daughter for her birthday an to participate in the sorority parent weekend. I was in and out of my room and did not see anything like what has been mentioned in another post. I have stayed at 4 other hotels in the area for various weekends and this was by fr my favorite. I will definitely be staying here any chance I get when visiting my daughter. I felt no qualms at all about having a carful of her stuff I was bringing home and a bike on the back in the parking lot. The staff was all friendly and the room was clean and a nice size.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

My folks stayed here overnight and they were pleased with this facility. They said it was convenient and very nice. They were happy with the flat screen tv, clean sheets, nice bathroom and the staff. It was a bit awkward to get into from the street though. They had to go back and forth and finally did a u-turn they weren't sure they should be doing, but that actually worked and they got in. Despite that, they would stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed pre-renovation and post-renovation. I must say that they did an awesome job. I enjoyed the '70's style last time, but the 2012 is much more impressive. Comfortable bed, spacious room, good water pressure with decent bath towels. Breakfast did not disappoint either. Parking for about 6 trucks behing the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised after reading the varied reviews. The staff is awesome!! The room we stayed in smelled of fresh paint and cleanser in a pleasant not overpowering way. The beds and pillows were soft and the room contained everything we needed. All I can say for the breakfast buffet is WOW. They made my morning by providing greek yogurt along with tons of other choices. I did not use the WiFi so I cannot comment on that. The pool was clean and refreshing. My only complaint would be that the air conditioner was noisy as another reviewer noted. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Fuerte, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Mold on the shower curtain. Wireless did not work in the room. I had to go to the lobby with my laptop to get the wireless to work so I could post a paper for my online class. Went to breakfast the next morning and the room key wouldn't work. After going to the front desk twice to get in my room they had to get maintenance to use the override on the door lock so my husband and I could get back in our room. I expected more from a Best Western at almost $100 a night. Not a cheap hotel to get this level of service. On a positive note all of the staff members were very friendly. However, I will not stay at this hotel again and I do not recommend it for travelers. There are much better options in this location at this price range.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Although the rooms were a bit older than some Best Westerns we’ve stayed in recently, they were clean. Sheets, towels, bedding smelled fresh. The staff was friendly and professional- no issues there. A/C was very noisy. Some of the nocturnal guests were a bit scary for a family with youngsters, but again the staff was wonderful. Hot breakfast was good especially the biscuits and gravy and fresh made waffles. Hotel was right off the highway so a tad noisy. There were several restaurants around to order from.

Room Tip: Families may want to stay away from hwy side and back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillinAlabaster, Manager at BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments concerning the Best Western Park Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
#15 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa/Near University of Alabama
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#4 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
#6 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn

Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd., Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#10 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Best Western
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Park Plaza Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.