We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's better around” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 McFarland Blvd. E., Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Ct
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“There's better around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a very old Motel in need of a lot of work! It's in a convenient location, just off the Interstate with plenty of restaurants and shopping around. The motel is old, old, old and needs update desperately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    3
    12
See reviews for
8
4
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a football weekend and all I can say is "Run"!. Our room was horrible, including blood stains on the shower curtain, vomit stains on the chair, mildew in the shower, a rattling air conditioner, and sheets and pillows that have to be 20 years or older. The breakfast is an absolute joke consisting of stale mini muffins and weak coffee. When informed of all our issues, the hotel manager was extremely rude, however said they would correct everything the second night (while we were at the Bama game), and the only thing done when we returned was a new chair. When I called to complain, I was informed they would take 10% off my bill. Considering our room was over $200 per night, I feel like I've been conned. I sent a letter to the corporate office, Choice Hotels, and they did nothing but send me a form letter apologizing. I will never stay at another EconoLodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My sister and I planned our Family Weekend vacation in July and this was the only hotel that was still avaliable in the Tuscaloosa area at that time. It looks relatively nice on the outside, but the inside is disgusting. There was some sort of black mold-like substance on the walls and when we opened the door a rush of mold smell wafted out of the room. Since the entire city was sold out, there wasn't any other place for us to go. The carpet had an oily feel to it, the bathroom had broken and missing tiles, the refrigerator was not clean on the inside, and the overall condition of the room was deplorable. When we asked about internet access so we could print off our boarding passes to fly home, we were told there wasn't a computer available. The continental breakfast was dismal with cereal, milk, packaged pasteries and coffee.
If you have the opportunity to stay somewhere else in Tuscaloosa, do so and stay away from this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee, Illinois
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here only one night while riding thru Tuscaloosa. Two story motel with exterior doors to rooms. Check in was quick and the hotel staff was friendly and offered suggestions on places to eat. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
My room was on the ground floor and was a king, non-smoking room with a sofa. The room was very dated with old style tv, old bed spread and microwave and fridge. Small outdated bathroom with sink in the room. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Free continental breakfast which was basicially nonexistent. Only saw coffee, orange juice and a couple muffins. Seasonal outdoor pool.
My stay was ok but if I'm ever in the area again, I'll probably stay somewhere more modern.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Here for UA graduation, staff friendly, room awful:
1) 3 of 6 lights not working
2) some kind of brown/black "goop" on; back of door, door knobs, phone directory placard
3) dead bug in coffee maker
4) carpet extremely dirty
5) areas around door filthy
6) tub stained/dirty
7) cigarette tar stains on numerous horizontal surfaces
8) furniture clean, but, scuffed,scratched and in need of repair/replace

Hey, I understand this is a "value" hotel, but at least it can be clean! Tempted to eat the loss of a priceline.com deal ($55 nt + tax/ fees) X 2 nights. We will never stay in a Econolodge again.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here spur of the moment. Nice to find friendly staff and a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed here for a total of six nights. Never had a problem. I didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment on that. The room was clean enough. Yes, it's definitely a dated hotel and you can tell. I agree that the bathroom could have used a little more attention, but it wasn't anything that I couldn't deal with.

The place can be difficult to find because it is behind some restaurants.

The one thing I found is the rooms have colored sheets (Kings were Pink!). I thought this was a bit refreshing. It was different than your typical white sheets! I did see Blue sheets on the housekeeping cart.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Address: 4501 McFarland Blvd. E., Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscaloosa Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Tuscaloosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;