We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4115 Courtney Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, Al
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Convenient with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed for a weekend night in a room facing away from the interstate as recommended by another reviewer. It was very quiet, and the bed was comfortable. There was a shower in our room, no tub, which was fine. The decor was nice, with a different color scheme than I have seen at other Courtyard properties. We also had a fun time at dinner in downtown Tuscaloosa at Mellow Mushroom Pizza, but beware of intoxicated co-eds driving around on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: If you want a super quiet room, ask for one on the side away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
8
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Clean, friendly staff, large rooms. Directly off the highway - a great place to stay if you are visiting Univ. of Alabama. Workout room has treadmills, an elliptical, and a bike. No weights that I was aware of. Free coffee in the morning and they also have "cafe" where they will cook food to order. I had the oatmeal, which came with brown sugar, dried cranberries, and walnuts. Really one of the cleaner and friendlier Courtyards I have been to. I had one issue, called the front desk, and it was immediately resolved - very appreciated. Thank you to your great staff!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much larger - may be reserved for Elite members (I am not sure). Excellent deck wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Good place to stay with no surprises
Clean and comfortable with a great staff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Typical Courtyard hotel but with a really nice indoor pool and exercise room. Our room was very clean and hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Only real complaint I have is the spotty wifi reception.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Nothing spectacular, but if are visiting the Univ of Alabama or going to an Alabama game, would recommend - good location to campus, hotel is clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are average - solid Courtyard (better than the old courtyards, but not as nice as a brand new courtyard)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Overall this is a very typical Courtyard hotel. It is an older property but had been renovated since my last visit in 2007.

Customer Service at check-in was efficient. We checked in at 3pm and were told our assigned room wasn't ready so they switched us to another room (#320).

The room was a standard King. Had a flat screen TV, micro/fridge unit and small sofa. The bathroom had 2 areas a small sink area and a seperate room with toilet and corner shower stall only. My only dissappointment besides how much they charged for room (and yes i knew rate but still chose to stay as i am a Marriott Elite) was the small shower and it's cheapness. The plastic door frame was bent making it very hard to get the door shut. We were traveling with our 3 year old so it was also difficult to manage getting her bathed.

I would recommend the hotel due to its location, cleanliness, and customer service but there might be better choices for less money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Unfortunately we had travel to Tuscaloosa, AL for a funeral. We had never been to Tuscaloosa, or ever stayed at a Courtyard, so we really weren't sure what to expect.

When we walked into the hotel, we were surprised by the cute little lobby area complete with a Starbucks mini-cafe stand. There you could get Starbucks coffee along with some takeaway food items like sandwiches and salads.

We had a king-sized suite that was plenty large with a separate living room, a morning bar with refrigerator and microwave, and split bathroom (shower and toilet in one room, vanity and sink in the other). We were on the 3rd floor and had a sliding door with balcony, and we were lucky not to get stung by the giant aggressive wasps that we didn't initially notice when we walked out to check the scenery. Once back inside, they were relentlessly flying into the door, and crawling up to a corner space near the door opening where it looked like they were trying to build a nest. The hotel sent a maintenance person up to take care of the problem, but more wasps returned later on. Other than this, our biggest complaint was that housekeeping failed to make our room on the first day.

We only stayed here for 2 days and it was fine for the purpose and duration of our visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa

Address: 4115 Courtney Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#8 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotels in Tuscaloosa, then you'll love the beautiful Courtyard Tuscaloosa. Our Tuscaloosa, AL hotel is located off I-59 and I-20, near the University of Alabama and Bryant-Denny Stadium - home of Crimson Tide football. We're also close to the Mercedes-Benz factory, as well as Phifer, Brose, Faurecia and Hunt Refining. Great attractions like the Paul Bryant Museum, Kentuck Art Center, and Stillman College are also close by. Our Tuscaloosa hotel features free Wi-Fi and 32" flat-screen TVs in every guest room. Our new lobby boasts media pod booths and a 52" GoBoard touch-screen TV. The Bistro offers delicious breakfasts and dinners with beverages from Starbucks and our full bar. Eat. Drink. Connect. Relax in our indoor pool or burn calories in the fitness room. If you're planning an event, let us know - our versatile space hosts up to 40. Few hotels in Tuscaloosa can match our attention to detail, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Courtyard Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Marriott
Tuscaloosa Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.