We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4115 Courtney Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Good place to stay with no surprises
Clean and comfortable with a great staff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levelguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Typical Courtyard hotel but with a really nice indoor pool and exercise room. Our room was very clean and hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Only real complaint I have is the spotty wifi reception.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0kieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Nothing spectacular, but if are visiting the Univ of Alabama or going to an Alabama game, would recommend - good location to campus, hotel is clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are average - solid Courtyard (better than the old courtyards, but not as nice as a brand new courtyard)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rams19881993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Overall this is a very typical Courtyard hotel. It is an older property but had been renovated since my last visit in 2007.

Customer Service at check-in was efficient. We checked in at 3pm and were told our assigned room wasn't ready so they switched us to another room (#320).

The room was a standard King. Had a flat screen TV, micro/fridge unit and small sofa. The bathroom had 2 areas a small sink area and a seperate room with toilet and corner shower stall only. My only dissappointment besides how much they charged for room (and yes i knew rate but still chose to stay as i am a Marriott Elite) was the small shower and it's cheapness. The plastic door frame was bent making it very hard to get the door shut. We were traveling with our 3 year old so it was also difficult to manage getting her bathed.

I would recommend the hotel due to its location, cleanliness, and customer service but there might be better choices for less money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmstewar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Unfortunately we had travel to Tuscaloosa, AL for a funeral. We had never been to Tuscaloosa, or ever stayed at a Courtyard, so we really weren't sure what to expect.

When we walked into the hotel, we were surprised by the cute little lobby area complete with a Starbucks mini-cafe stand. There you could get Starbucks coffee along with some takeaway food items like sandwiches and salads.

We had a king-sized suite that was plenty large with a separate living room, a morning bar with refrigerator and microwave, and split bathroom (shower and toilet in one room, vanity and sink in the other). We were on the 3rd floor and had a sliding door with balcony, and we were lucky not to get stung by the giant aggressive wasps that we didn't initially notice when we walked out to check the scenery. Once back inside, they were relentlessly flying into the door, and crawling up to a corner space near the door opening where it looked like they were trying to build a nest. The hotel sent a maintenance person up to take care of the problem, but more wasps returned later on. Other than this, our biggest complaint was that housekeeping failed to make our room on the first day.

We only stayed here for 2 days and it was fine for the purpose and duration of our visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesintheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Stayed one night here on the way back to NC from TX. Had previously stayed at the Fairfield next door. The hotel is located between the Fairfield and the Hilton Garden Inn.
As another reviewer stated, some restaurants have closed on this side of the loop road, so we went to Outback across the highway (which was very good as Outbacks usually are). The hotel must have been recently renovated, it was very nicely decorated, with all new furnishings, carpet, etc. When we got to our room we noticed an "odor" in the room which we originally thought was a cigarette smell, but later determined that this room had been freshly (and very recently) renovated and the smell was a new carpet, tile, grout, etc., smell. Once we were in the room for awhile it ceased to be noticeable. Had a new fiberglass shower stall instead of the usual tub and shower combo which we thought was great. How many people take a tub bath in a hotel anyway? Seems like a good idea. The breakfast is not free, it was close to $10, so we went to IHOP down the street instead. So I can't review the breakfast, although I am sure it was fine. The hotel is very clean and nice and fills the bill if you are staying here for a sporting event or just passing through. Too bad the Longhorn Steakhouse close by was closed, but the Ryan's was still open as well as the IHOP. Like I said, the Outback is across the road, and it will fill the dinner need if you are traveling.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ9790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Built in 1996 and renovated in 2009. This place is very nice, but still difficult to get to. I was a student at ALABAMA when this was being built. It's on a "loop" road near I-20/59 and I-359. Several of the restaurant on the same road are closed so you might have to drive across the major street to get better food options.

This is a newly renovated hotel and has the new Courtyard/Marriott package for decor. It's clean and quiet (as long as not on the highway/freeway side). I happened to have a room away from the freeway so didn't notice the low level hum unless the back door way open, but it was February and in the 30s so who would have the door open?

The staff was friendly and helpful upon check-in. Asked if there was anything needed and seemed to enjoy working there.

Internet - Decent, but times of slowness. Probably not the best around, but FREE!

Parking was acceptable, but could tell that if all three hotels were busy then parking would be at a premium (i.e. big football weekends). There is a Fairfield and a Hilton Garden Inn at the same area. Other reviewers said to stay at the Fairfield for some savings. Probably true, but it was only about $10/night difference so didn't mind this place. Just noticed the difference when breakfast wasn't included so if you have a family and want a free "breakfast" then go for the Fairfield (although, those breakfasts aren't much to write home about).

If you're in town and like ribs bbq then you HAVE to go to Dreamland BBQ (5535 15th Avenue, East). Don't expect much, and it is just RIBS (on the bone), but this is the original and well worth the trip. (Again, since I went here as a student I know about the experience)

Location - A little tricky to find on the "loop road", but follow the signs and don't drive toward the building (you'll end up going through a parking lot and end up backtracking to the loop road). Once you get there you'll find it easy to get back.

Local - Easy access to local businesses and to the University. Probably less than 10 minutes from "downtown" and less than 15-20 minutes to University parking (not on game days).

Very easy access to I-359 and I-20/59 to get back on your drive if you're not staying in T-town for very long.

ROLL TIDE!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Around_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Alabama Downtown
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
0.2 mi away
Springhill Suites Tuscaloosa
Springhill Suites Tuscaloosa
#10 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa
Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa
#12 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa

Address: 4115 Courtney Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#8 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotels in Tuscaloosa, then you'll love the beautiful Courtyard Tuscaloosa. Our Tuscaloosa, AL hotel is located off I-59 and I-20, near the University of Alabama and Bryant-Denny Stadium - home of Crimson Tide football. We're also close to the Mercedes-Benz factory, as well as Phifer, Brose, Faurecia and Hunt Refining. Great attractions like the Paul Bryant Museum, Kentuck Art Center, and Stillman College are also close by. Our Tuscaloosa hotel features free Wi-Fi and 32" flat-screen TVs in every guest room. Our new lobby boasts media pod booths and a 52" GoBoard touch-screen TV. The Bistro offers delicious breakfasts and dinners with beverages from Starbucks and our full bar. Eat. Drink. Connect. Relax in our indoor pool or burn calories in the fitness room. If you're planning an event, let us know - our versatile space hosts up to 40. Few hotels in Tuscaloosa can match our attention to detail, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Courtyard Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Courtyard
Tuscaloosa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing