We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Out of the Way, but a Decent Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Interstate Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35453   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Bit Out of the Way, but a Decent Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-East for one night on our way to Florida. Having lived in Tuscaloosa fifteen years earlier, I had a pretty good idea of where the hotel was located and what to expect from the area. Overall, the hotel met my expectations.

The hotel is a bit out of the way for activities in Tuscaloosa, located near a couple of truck stops a few miles to the east of the main part of town. If you're wanting to explore Tuscaloosa, be prepared to spend some time in the car to reach your destination. However, it is conveniently located off I-20/59 and would be a great stopping spot for people passing through the area. As an added bonus, the room rates tended to be lower than the hotels closer to town.

This is an older Hampton Inn and, as such, doesn't have all the bells and whistles of newer Hampton properties. However, the common areas of the hotel have been renovated and are quite nice. While the food was a typical Hampton breakfast, we did enjoy relaxing in the breakfast area.

Our room was spacious and clean, though it didn't look as if it had been renovated. Since we were traveling with an infant, we requested a crib for the night. What we got was a useable pack-n-play without any sheets to fit. It worked for the night, but I'd suggest to any traveling parents that they bring their own fitted sheets for safety.

Overall, this hotel worked for us and our needs. It allowed us to get a good night's sleep and briefly visit Tuscaloosa without breaking the bank.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    51
    19
    3
    7
See reviews for
69
43
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not great but tolerable for a 2 night business trip. The rate was pretty high for the room. The lobby looked great and the hallways were cool but as soon as we walked into our room it smelled musty and the carpet felt somewhat damp. The a/c in our room was terribly noisy so we didn't get great sleep. I will definitely look for another option when I return to the Tuscaloosa area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

But a bit worn. Time for refreshing. I have been in this hotel before and it was better then. It's time for new carpet in the hallways, and on the room floors. The linens were clean, as was the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice experience. Reservation was as made. Reception was quick and with a smile. Asked how-room was when entered lobby to retrieve luggage. Room is clean and bed is comfortable while close to interstate there is little noise from the traffic. A bit of a drive to downtown but not difficult. Recommend seeing the campus if you have time. Great area called the strip for food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were in Tuscaloosa this weekend for a wedding, and we stayed at the Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-East. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and, if we are back in Tuscaloosa in the future, we will definitely stay here. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff was amazing from check in to check out. We travel a lot, and I don't remember anywhere we have stayed that we felt more welcomed. We appreciate prior comments made through tripadvisor that helped us make this choice for our stay.

Room Tip: I didn't rate room service because we didn't need it and made this known to staff. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything was exceptionally clean which is my main priority! The breakfast in the morning provided a lot of selections and tidied up if the least spill was made. Definitely a good place to stay! Would recommend to others as well.

Room Tip: No complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I like to stay at Hampton because of its service and quality. My stay at this Hampton reinforced that. It was clean, the staff was great, the room was excellent. I would stay here again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Address: 6400 Interstate Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn-East Tuscaloosa/Interstate is initially inviting to our guests because of the nice landscaping around our hotel. The masonry exterior provides our guests with the comfort of knowing the great quality of our hotel's structure. The covered drive in front of the hotel makes loading and unloading even more convenient for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.