We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Interstate Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35453   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was nice and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was mostly great. I didn't like how the pool was situated-it is at the front of the hotel which faces the interstate and just didn't seem to have much privacy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent response on our Trip Advisor site. We value your feedback and it was a pleasure to have had you as a guest. I apologize if you found our pool not adequate to your pleasure, and I will discuss this with our executive team. We do not receive many complaints in regards to our pool location, but I think we can develop a plan to increase some privacy based on your feedback. It appears the remainder of your stay was great and I will share your experience with our team. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to having you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    19
    2
    7
See reviews for
55
34
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very convenient location for people with business at the Mercedes plant and surrounding suppliers. By staying here you will miss most of the morning Tuscaloosa traffic and save at least 20 minutes on your daily commute.

Couple the location with an exceptional hotel staff and you have a nice home away from home when working here in Tuscaloosa. All the requirements for business travel can be found here, fast and free internet access, a full ( and pretty good) breakfast, excellent coffee ( I like the robust brew), and complimentary USA Today, apples and cookies!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay with us and we are delighted to hear that we met your expecations. We know you have many options during your travels, and it was apleasure to have you as a guest. We look forward to your next visit with us. I wish you safe travels and I hope you have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was large and nice, furnishings clean and well cared for, nicely decorated. It was also surprisingly very quiet as this was graduation night. The breakfast was hot, fresh and better than the usual free continental breakfast. The staff at this hotel were so very nice and pleasant. Will definitely stay here again. It's the nicest hotel we have stayed at in Tuscaloosa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-East. We appreciate your warm comments and for taking the time respond on our Trip Advisor site. I will share your thoughts with our team, and we look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again, Have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. The desk staff was very helpful giving directions to a restaurant we planned on eating at. The room was very spacious and clean. The only negative was the only drinking glasses were paper. Fortunately, one of us thought to pack a glass for our cocktail, the other had to use the paper cup.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hampton Inn-East Tuscaloosa. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your lodging needs, and for taking the time to provide us some feedback on our Trip Advisor site. We are pleased your stay went well, and we have made a note in regards to not having any glassware for our guest. We participate in a green program which promotes recycled goods throughout our facility. From our breakfast to guest rooms, these areas are equipped with goods that were produced from recycled paper items. This is our way of trying to reduce our carbon footprint and reduce waste. I think every hotel should participate in such a dynamic and worthy cause. Based on your feedback we will keep a few glasses at our desk for these types of special request that may arise. We hope to have a chance to host you again in the near future. Thank you for your time, and have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel saw an opportunity to overcharge for the area and capitalized on that opportunity. I would not choose this location again. Just an average night in small town at premium price. What else can I say?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn East. We appreciate your business, and for posting some feedback on our Trip Advisor site. We apologize if you found our accommodations pricey. Our rates are based on market demands, and during special event and high peak days the rates do fluctuate. Nevertheless we continue to stand by our Best Available Rate policy. At the time of your stay the entire market rates increased due to the above mentioned factors. Please do not misinterpret this as a way to overcharge guest, it is simply our strategy to stay competitive against other similar accommodations in our market. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to contact the hotel directly and speak with the GM. We appreciate all feedback, and I we hope to have a chance to host you again in the near future. Have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cookies, TV lounge, breakfast. The room even has a Mini kitchenette. Very clean and comfy beds.
The friendly staff even greets you by name!! What a treat! Even could walk to dinner next door at Ruby Tuesday!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get the East Location on Interstate Rd off I-59/20
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-East. We appreciate your warm comments and for taking the time respond on our Trip Advisor site. I will share your thoughts with our team, and we look froward to your next visit with us. Thanks again, Have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson,SC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here after staying in 5 other Hampton Inns throughout the country this week. This one was actually below standard. The staff was nice and service very good. However, the room was not nearly as clean as most Hampton Inns. The carpet was stained and I shudder to think what had gone on in the chair in the corner. It was stained and disgusting looking. The comforters were rumpled on the "made " bed but did appear to be clean. I did have a little more concern though when my we pulled the comforter back and saw M&M's wedged between the mattresses. In general, this Hampton Inn was kind of dark and depressing. They also didn't offer the same amenities at breakfast that most Hampton Inns do. There is in general, a lack of attention to detail at this property. I would stay there again, but they really need to step it up. This one needs some attention and upgrading.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your stay. We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Inn-East, and your feedback is critical to our success. Currently we are in the planning stages of another set of renovations. Our goal is to keep our service and cleanliness as high as possible while we continue to format plans to further update our rooms. We do have projects in place, and they should be completed within 3 weeks. We will continue to move forward over the next several months while trying to minimize any heavy guest impact. I appreciate your concern, and if you have any further questions about these projects feel free to contact me anytime to discuss these exciting updates that will be coming in the near future. Thank you again for your stay, and I hope you have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Address: 6400 Interstate Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#4 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn-East Tuscaloosa/Interstate is initially inviting to our guests because of the nice landscaping around our hotel. The masonry exterior provides our guests with the comfort of knowing the great quality of our hotel's structure. The covered drive in front of the hotel makes loading and unloading even more convenient for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.