We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Interstate Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35453   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
knoxville
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a nice place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cookies, TV lounge, breakfast. The room even has a Mini kitchenette. Very clean and comfy beds.
The friendly staff even greets you by name!! What a treat! Even could walk to dinner next door at Ruby Tuesday!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get the East Location on Interstate Rd off I-59/20
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-East. We appreciate your warm comments and for taking the time respond on our Trip Advisor site. I will share your thoughts with our team, and we look froward to your next visit with us. Thanks again, Have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    45
    19
    3
    7
See reviews for
64
37
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anderson,SC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here after staying in 5 other Hampton Inns throughout the country this week. This one was actually below standard. The staff was nice and service very good. However, the room was not nearly as clean as most Hampton Inns. The carpet was stained and I shudder to think what had gone on in the chair in the corner. It was stained and disgusting looking. The comforters were rumpled on the "made " bed but did appear to be clean. I did have a little more concern though when my we pulled the comforter back and saw M&M's wedged between the mattresses. In general, this Hampton Inn was kind of dark and depressing. They also didn't offer the same amenities at breakfast that most Hampton Inns do. There is in general, a lack of attention to detail at this property. I would stay there again, but they really need to step it up. This one needs some attention and upgrading.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your stay. We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Inn-East, and your feedback is critical to our success. Currently we are in the planning stages of another set of renovations. Our goal is to keep our service and cleanliness as high as possible while we continue to format plans to further update our rooms. We do have projects in place, and they should be completed within 3 weeks. We will continue to move forward over the next several months while trying to minimize any heavy guest impact. I appreciate your concern, and if you have any further questions about these projects feel free to contact me anytime to discuss these exciting updates that will be coming in the near future. Thank you again for your stay, and I hope you have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel was clean and quiet. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast featured a nice variety and the eating area was clean and well-maintained. I highly recommend this hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to post your thoughts. It is very fullfilling to hear what an excellent stay you had, and we hope to have a chance to host you again in the near future. I will add your comments to our display section in our facility, for all of our team members to see. Thank you very much, and I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel always smelled so clean and fresh. I have never stayed in a hotel that smelled so good. The service was excellent. The staff were all so kind. The rooms and lobby were beautiful. From now on, when I come to Tuscaloosa, this is where I want to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you your past stay with us. I am very pleased to see that we met and in some areas exceeded your expecations. We strive for customer service excellence, and we appreciate your warm comments. Please contact us for any future accomadations, as it would be a pleasure to have you again as our guest. Thanks again, Have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent one night here. The room was a little dated but clean. I always like having a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The free breakfast was very good. They had just about everything you might want. Everyone working in hotel went our of their way to be friendly, always smiling! Just about 10 minutes from University of Alabama. The only issue I had was the bed was too soft for me so I don't know that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to fill out this survey. We are delighted that your stay went well, and we are always open for suggestions and comments. Periodically we will contiue to update the facilty to provide even greater value to our guest. We look forward to your next visit with us, and please do not hestiate to contact us if you need anything further. Thank you again, have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This Hampton Inn is convenient to the highway, on the Birmingham side of Tuscaloosa. Outdoor pool, free breakfast as always, clean room. Mine had a fridge and microwave.

It is a typical well-run Hampton Inn. A colleague had a problem with her room and the manager changed the room immediately, apologized and gave her the night free, which was the right thing to do -but does not happen much anymore.

I would certainly stay there again and commend the hotel for putting the guest first.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the quiet side if you want a great night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay with us at The Hampton Inn-East Tuscaloosa. We know you have many options and it is a pleasure to have had you as a guest. Our goal is to provide an excellent stay for each and every guest. I will discuss your feedback with our team, and I know that will be thrilled to hear how pleasant your stay went. If you need anything further feel free to contact us directly at the hotel. Thanks again, have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest Hampton Inn hotels I have visited lately. It seems to be a well-managed and well-maintained hotel. The lobby is large and nicely decorated. Staff is very nice and professional. Everything seems to be in place, clean, well-attended to and nice. The room we stayed was decorated with new standard Hampton furniture. Everything looked nice, clean and in good condition. The bed was super comfortable! Breakfast consisted of the usual continental and a couple of hot items. It included fresh cut fruit, but the fruit was cut hours earlier and did not taste good anymore. Overall, this was a close to perfect hotel experience for me. To make it perfect, 1) the bathroom shower head would need to be replaced with a high flow one, 2) include freshly cut fruit, fresh berries, and plain greek yogurt with breakfast. The location of this hotel is close to Alabama University, just about five minutes drive to campus. However it is not walkable to campus because a multilane highway is between the hotel and campus. I would recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this Trip Advisor Surve. We greatly appreciate your warm comments, and we are pleased that your stay went well. I hope to have a chance to host you again in the near future. Have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East

Address: 6400 Interstate Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#4 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#6 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn-East Tuscaloosa/Interstate is initially inviting to our guests because of the nice landscaping around our hotel. The masonry exterior provides our guests with the comfort of knowing the great quality of our hotel's structure. The covered drive in front of the hotel makes loading and unloading even more convenient for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.