We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the Game!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - University

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn - University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Harper Lee Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for the Game!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice, clean hotel within walking distance of Alabam's football stadium. I went up to watch the game and stayed here. Once you consider the free parking, free breakfast and complimentary game program, it's quite a deal. Baumhower's restaurant is next door...great place to grab a bite to eat. Overall, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    41
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
79
13
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Axis, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Clean hotel, Great location, Good breakfast, Free internet, Adequate parking, Friendly staff. Quiet location. Stayed here for a Bama game. Front desk staff was friendly. Would stay here again. Fast checkin process. Restaurants very close - within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My son and I stayed here when we toured Bryant-Denny stadium. It is a very quiet location and very clean hotel. After our long drive, it was a great surprise to see Baumhower's Restaurant right next door! The staff was efficient, though we were there for a very short time, we could not have been more pleased!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, TN, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everything about this hotel was exactly as expected. Hampton Inns are consistently the favorite for my travels. During one of my visits I forgot a pricy bottle of special scalp conditioner. Unfortunatley they through it away but said they would gladly replaceme it. Upon my following trip I went to the salon and bought another bottle, came back to the hotel and spoke with the manager and within 2 minutes I received an apology (unnecessary) and a re-imbursment. Amazing customer service and the best beds in the business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been a frequent guest at this location for a number of years and it has always been a great experiene to stay here. There is an excellent staff here and the front desk people are always nice and fiendly and when the experience of check in is good it sets the tone for the stay, and that has always been a great experience here at the Hampton on McFarland. I really enjoy this hotel and the location of the hotel is very convenient. Even though it is not beside an Interstate highway , it is very easy to get out of town in the morning if you need to. I also enjoy the Baumhowers Restaurant next door, it is close enough to walk and it is a great place too. I actually enjoy the fact that the hotel is not by an Interstate Highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A clean and well maintained Hampton with friendly and efficient staff. My dissapointment was that there are very limited rooms with a tub--all King rooms have a shower only. Convenient location for access to the University of Alabama.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for move out last year, and anxiously called for an opening for Parents Weekend, which came available at the month cancellation deadline.

Well worth the price. Not only was the hotel still in great shape, with fantastic breakfast and the most comfortable beds, and an awesome shower, but the staff really went above and beyond for the gameday experience.

Plenty of newspapers and game programs available, as well as flyers about parking, shuttles, events going on.

We got reserved gameday parking, so no problem when it was raining in the morning on gameday. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast that tied us over until Parents Weekend tailgate.

When we returned from the game, they had a wonderful spread of sandwiches, cookies and drinks for us.

They knew all the guests by name, and obviously a favorite of alums and their families.

We've got our room booked for graduation, and will stay here for visits during the school year and drop off and pick up during breaks.

If you're new to Bama, treat yourself to a stay at this hotel, even not during football season, to experience the nicest hotel in the Tuscaloosa area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - University

Address: 600 Harper Lee Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - University 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn- University is an interior corridor property. We have newly refurbished rooms, corridors and lobby. Beautifully landscaped,nicely enclosed breakfast room, outdoor pool, well-lit parking lot and conveniently located near The University of Alabama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.