We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenient to the University, but costly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - University

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn - University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Harper Lee Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Alexander City, United States
1 review
“Nice and convenient to the University, but costly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pretty good place to stay, well worth using my points. But the cost of the rooms is way to high. We like the location, but the price is too high for how nice the facility is. It is just average for the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    41
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
79
13
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is hands down one of the best in the Hilton family. Both the double queen and king rooms were clean, fresh smelling and spacious. The facility was just as well kept with a great breakfast. We've stayed in a few Hampton Inns and this one is a jewel in Hilton's crown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't write in all caps normally, but these guys and gals deserve it. Checked in a night early with my 3 kids and stayed two nights on our way from Texas. We decided to stay and look around the university. Great location to the Bama campus. Rooms were lovely and clean. Beds were perfect. The lobby was clean and welcoming. Breakfast was amazing! The pool was great and my kids like to check out every pool at every hotel... The staff answered every question with a smile. Just awesome.... Thank you, Hampton!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here while my son attended the Nick Saban youth football camp. The hotel was very busy during our stay, but there were no issues with noise, & the breakfast area was always fully stocked & clean! The pool was wonderful, very clean and not heavily chlorinated.

The location was perfect! I could get to the indoor training facility in 5-6 minutes, & the stadium in about 7-8 minutes.

Milk, cookies, and hot chocolate every night were a huge hit with all of my kids & the staff kept that stocked well each night.

The beds were super comfy and the room was very clean. I love the fact that the Duvet covers are washed for each guest! We WILL be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppraisegod
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here again for the college orientation. The staff is very pleasant. The hotel is very easy to find if you just head down 82 W until you see the hotel off to your right then take next exit to the right. The best part is the easy accessibility to the University of Alabama. Take the back road and you are there.
The breakfast had different things each day we were there and the cookies at night are nice and hot. My kids love the hot chocolate and the pool with the big Alabama tubes.
We stay here whenever we are in town and we have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandeville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I pulled off the interstate after seeing a billboard advertising your Hampton Inn, and I got a room for me, my daughter, and two of her friends. We had just travelled about half way to our destination, and we were feeling very tired. We left the next morning feeling refreshed and ready to carry on with our trip. Our short stay was everything we needed which was a welcoming and comfortable environment that was clean and quiet as well. And all of this for a decent price! This is why I always stay with Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Quiet. Great location. Comfortable beds! Exceptional.service! Good selections for breakfast. One suggestion...get bravo or E channel. This will definitely be my hotel of choice when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - University

Address: 600 Harper Lee Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - University 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn- University is an interior corridor property. We have newly refurbished rooms, corridors and lobby. Beautifully landscaped,nicely enclosed breakfast room, outdoor pool, well-lit parking lot and conveniently located near The University of Alabama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.