We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn - University to your Saves list
Hampton Inn - University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Harper Lee Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location for University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good location close to the U of Alabama campus. Good breakfast and friendly staff. The heater was a bit noisy in the room which I typically like to drown out the noise from everything else going on but my wife did not like it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    56
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
112
18
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were visiting UA so we stayed at the Hampton for 2 nights. We paid approx. $130+ during non-football season weekday visit. It was clean and my 17 y/o loved the bedding. It is in a GREAT location and everyone was very friendly. I LOVED that they had directions for every place I wanted to go - already preprinted on little slips of paper. I was very impressed because I asked for directions to a small local deli and they had those ready! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because our room (129) was near the trash dumpsters and both mornings at 6:15 I heard a lot of noise as the trash was picked up. The first morning it went on for 10 minutes and I couldn't get back to sleep...very disappointing because I was exhausted from flying the previous day. The breakfast is fair...definitely not the best I have ever had. They had waffles, and a few other hot items like oatmeal and sausage and an unappetizing egg dish plus all the standard continental things like fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, etc. I also thought the cookies at night were a nice touch. The restaurant next door - Baumhowe's is fantastic. I also used the fitness room. The treadmill wasn't working, but they had a few other cardio pieces plus free weights and another weight machine that was very adaptable to different weight lifting moves. I know there are cheaper places to stay during non-peak days, but I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I spent two weeks at the Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn – University while on business. It was perfect! I can’t think of any improvements. It has just been freshened up with carpets, etc. and is clean as can be. Linens feel and smell as if you are in the lap of luxury and the bed had the best feel that you could imagine. Great access to University, as it is practically right across the street, but not in the middle of the crowds and it is right on US-82 connecting with I-20, I-59 and I-359. The entire staff, from the maintenance workers, house keeping, desk staff and the manager made you feel totally at home, and then to top it off were the warm cookies before bed. The breakfast was nutritious, filling and quite tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I am a little surprised that this hotel ranks #7....it is FABULOUS!!! Great location, friendly people, and the best part....clean, clean, CLEAN!!!! My son and I were in town to visit the University of Alabama and the front desk was extremely helpful at check-in (warm cookies at 7 p.m. in the lobby!) and check-out....even giving me a map of where the nearest drugstore was located!!! (We had forgotten something....of course!) Will I stay here again? YOU BET!!!! My only disappointment...and disappointment is much too strong a word.....would be the breakfast. Not bad, but I would have given the hotel an "excellent" rating if the breakfast were a little better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the night of the Iron Bowl. It was awesome! Besides being in a very clean room, with comfortable bedding, the lobby was the best tailgate! Before and after the game there was lots of food and conversation. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We came down with our son to visit Bama. What a treat. Young ladies at desk were students and could not have been sweeter. Olivia helped us with restaurants and directions and answered as many questions as we had. Complimentary breakfast was nice and fresh popcorn and sodas were a nice welcome back treat after long day of touring the campus. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a preferred location for our corporation. I confirm that it is a good choice. Normally I would not give away excellent ratings but to simply say they are very good would be short from the reality. The next time I an in town it will be this place again. It also helps to have a great place to eat next door.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - University

Address: 600 Harper Lee Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#2 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn- University is an interior corridor property. We have newly refurbished rooms, corridors and lobby. Beautifully landscaped,nicely enclosed breakfast room, outdoor pool, well-lit parking lot and conveniently located near The University of Alabama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.