We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than Happy with OUR stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“More than Happy with OUR stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are road tripping and decided on this Motel on price and loction. To get things started we were concerned with the area however we felt no threat whatsoever. The staff were very friendly and the room (131) had the back to the I20 so we had no noise. I really cannot abide people who give a bad report due to insects in the room what is that about. Our room was clean tidy and we were rather impressed with the TV and the fact we had a table to sit at . The room was basic as we did not have a microwave or fridge but for one night we were more than happy for what we spent on our stay. Breakfast was basic with no hot food.

Room Tip: Ask for one with near the pool as it baffles the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    34
    42
    70
See reviews for
87
33
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ok I want it undestood first off that in general, I have no issue with La Quinta Inns. I have stayed at other LaQuinta hotels and have generally found them to be a clean and budget friendly place to stay. Until this one.

So, I stayed at the La Quinta in Tuscaloosa on Sunday night as I was in town for a business trip. This hotel is not really near the street. It is way off the street hidden behind some sort of semi-truck parking lot. The hotel is set up "motel" style, where all the doors face the street. I don't really love that from a security and safety standpoint, but ok. I drive up to the lobby to check in. The lobby is small, but clean. The front desk attendant checks me in and gives me my room key in an envelope that had been previously been used and still had that number written on it and crossed off. I take my key and drive off to where my room is.

Once I got to the room, and used my key to open the door, the problems started. THERE WAS ANOTHER FAMILY ALREADY CHECKED IN TO THAT ROOM. I screamed, they screamed, we were all terrified. I spoke with the husband and cleared the air with him, and then drove BACK to the lobby to get a new room. The attendant fixed it, and I got a new, mercifully empty room.

The second room was on the first floor, and there were lots of not so awesome looking people just sort of milling outside the doors to their rooms. I walk in to my "new" room, and the room really was not great. The deadbolt did not work right, which was not comforting given the fact that I had walked in to someone else's room five minutes before. I pushed the reclining chair in front of my door to sleep.

The room also had a funny smell, like when your grandmother smokes and tries to cover it up with some sort of perfume.

The bed was pretty comfy, but I was not super relaxed due to the issues when I got to the hotel.

The water pressure in the shower was good, but the shower head was so low it was short for me and I am only 5'8,

The hair dryer broke when I was using it.

The hotel does offer free breakfast in the morning, but really I just wanted to get out of there so bad, I did not risk it.

As a woman traveling alone, I really did not feel safe here due to the location, the physical set up of the building and the key issue. I will not stay in this hotel again, and I will look more carefully at LaQuintas in the future before booking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were really unhappy with our stay this past weekend. Following is a list of our complaints and observations:

1. The room (#107) smelled terribly of mold or mildew. We complained about this while we were there and were told they would address it with the maid service. I got the distinct impression that moving rooms was not an option, either another wasn’t available or more likely the condition of that room wouldn’t be any better. The latter is the impression I came away from that conversation with.
2. The second night we were there I woke up and turned on the light in bathroom area and found a cockroach scurrying across the floor.
3. After the first night, late in the afternoon, my wife had to go to the lobby to ask to have the room made up and to get additional towels (The maid had come by early in the day and my wife asked her to come back).
4. After the second night, the maid came by early and knocked on the door while I had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door – This should never happen
5. When I answered the door the maid asked if we needed any towels. When I said no she asked me to sign her sheet that she had come by. I specifically asked if she was going to come back to make up the room and she definitely responded “yes.”
6. She never came by and the room never got made up that day. I had to go to the front desk to ask for more towels for showers the next day.
7. Overall condition of the appearance of the hotel is rundown. The carpets are dirty and worn and generally, the entirety appears tired.

Given any choice we will never stay at thsi hotel again. Our daughter is a sophomore at the University and we make several trips to visit her a year. Clearly on game weekends they can, and do, get away with charging an outrageous amount of money per night. I don’t begrudge them that opportunity; however, I do find it terribly offensive that they charge the equivalent of 5 star or NY rates and don’t even provide the minimum service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel but very clean and friendly!!! Beds were very comfortable. Trip advisor ratings can be skewed! It's not the Ritz Carlton but not Ritz Carlton prices!we were very surprised!! There is good access to all this town has to offer!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived late with prior reservations asking for a non smoking, UPDATED room. We initially got a smoking, not updated room. The lady put us in the room next door. Non smoking, not updated, but no big deal. Room was clean and smoke free. Pet friendly. We didn't stay for breakfast, so I don't know how that was. Pool was loud. Comfy, comfy beds and roomy space was nice. Basic room came with a desk, big comfy chair, and closet. AC worked great. Nice new TV. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love staying at La Quinta Inns, I am all ways treated like a king. The rooms are bright and clean, the beds real comfortable. I would recommend staying there to any one that wants quality at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Don't make the mistake we did! Bugs everywhere and the room ! I sent my husband to the store to buy lysol and he was shocked by the cluster of people standing around and what appeared to be drug deals. Now I'm not usually easily rattled but I was on edge and didn't get much sleep. Do yourself a favor and pass this hotel up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Address: 4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.