We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest stop headed to New Orleans...don't do it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Redford, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rest stop headed to New Orleans...don't do it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't make the mistake we did! Bugs everywhere and the room ! I sent my husband to the store to buy lysol and he was shocked by the cluster of people standing around and what appeared to be drug deals. Now I'm not usually easily rattled but I was on edge and didn't get much sleep. Do yourself a favor and pass this hotel up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    46
    43
    54
    83
See reviews for
112
44
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Labor Day 2013 after 8 hours of driving I checked in with a coupon at $62 including tax. Down and out room very clean. Old place but maintained. Very comfortable bed. Room 128 no microwave but all other amenities you would expect. Restaurant, grocery store, and other stores in walking distance. Easy access from I-20 exit # 73

Room Tip: Two levels outside facing rooms. Hollow square shape with pool in inner square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Well I stopped at this place after driving until 1am. I only required a clean room and safe place. I was funky after driving some time and first went to shower. My tub in a non smoking room had cigarette burns all over it and while was clean had this plastic taped to the bottom I guess to cover something. Beds were nice. The price was reasonable but about 6 am a very loud and scary argument took place next door. I could hear every word said and also sounded like someone was being slammed into furniture. I picked up the phone to call front desk to alert them to call the police but it didn't work do I dug around got my cell and called 911. It did stop when the police got there but decided to leave a review after seeing so many others left reviews about police being called. After that we didn't feel safe so on only 4 hours sleep jumped in the car and left.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had to go into town for death in family...no time to shop around. Booked LaQuinta. Arrived and had to dash into the room. Absolutely wretched smell of smoke/pet combination. No time to move or complain. Just a poor excuse. I have never posted/reviewed anything like this before, but it was unacceptable. Be ready and hope your experience is much better than ours. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were in Tuscaloosa for a university event and, of course, everything was sold out, but we were able to find a good price on this hotel. Location is pretty good and convenient to town and the university. The summary statement is that the hotel should really be torn down and rebuilt. Everything was worn and the hotel is getting the maximum life out of the facility. That said, I could tell that the housekeeping staff really works hard to keep things as clean as possible. We did find a couple of bugs one morning in the room (they were dead), but otherwise the room and bath were clean and the cleaning after our first night was very good. If your favorites in Tuscaloosa are sold out or prices are too high elsewhere, the La Quinta is an ok second choice. BTW, I would not argue with other reviewers giving a lower score, but for what it is, it met our need for someplace to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room away from the highway or keep your a/c unit on all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We woke up to a knock on the door on the 13th of August. It was a policeman asking if this was our car with the broken windows, with our stuff scattered and with our suite cases missing. Unfortunately, It was. A management aide let it slip that this was the third incident in the last few days and the manager said there was a patrol every hour . Evidently they thought the patrol was necessary.This information, however, was after the fact and there was no warning beforehand. They didn't charge for the room because of the break-in.
La Quinta was my hotel of choice until now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked a room here on short notice without checking any reviews and just relying on the brand--big mistake. Was promised a non-smoking room--it was not. The bath towels and wash cloths were a dingy tan-white. The carpet felt sticky beneath our feet. All this things came after the drive up a scary looking alley way to get to the hotel and then the Police arresting someone who was lurking in the bushes just beside our building. We were so exhausted we couldn't go anywhere else, but we left asap the next morning.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
#15 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#23 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
3.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa/Near University of Alabama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
2.9 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#18 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#4 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Address: 4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.