We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Bama Campus, but grounds need updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Mullica Hill, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Close to Bama Campus, but grounds need updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently moved my son out of the University and needed a close place to stay. It is right off McFarland Blvd and close to multiple shops and restaurants, however the hotel is not in the nicest location as it sits behind a car wash and Chinese restaurant. The staff, however, were quite nice and the beds were comfortable.The hotel is quite compact and parking is very tight -especially with larger vehicles.

Room Tip: It's a bit quieter in the back of the hotel near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    41
    52
    78
See reviews for
104
42
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merryville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Travelling east and ended up in Tuscaloosa looking for a room after 9-10pm. Stopped at the Welcome Center and picked up a Hotel Coupon book to use on a room. It was a Thursday night and the coupon was refused at the desk due to an event in Tuscaloosa that weekend. It was Thursday, not the weekend. Lucky break for me because I ended up at the Wingate after booking an Express Deal on Priceline. Much better quality hotel for less than what I would have paid full price for Laquinta. I would think better to rent a room late at night for the coupon rate than lose the sale altogether but what do I know. LaQuinta's loss was by good fortune.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
483 reviews 483 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were just passing through and needed a pet friendly place. The bonus was that there was no extra fee for our 8 pound dog. We had a nice king room. It was very clean and the bed was comfy. The motel was older but it was very adequate and close to the interstate and lots of restaurant choices nearby. Friendly staff. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, near pool. They aren't facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is right off the interstate ... convenient, BUT extremely noisy. And it's in dire need of an upgrade. I've stayed in many La Quintas but this particular one is going by the wayside ...almost as bad as Motel 6. Bathtub was disgusting.... I think it's also a home for many shady characters. Lots of people noise, shouting, etc. in the wee hours of the morning. At checkout, they could not give me a receipt because the printer was down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

On a busy weekend at The University of Alabama, we were lucky to find a room at LaQuinta in Tuscaloosa. Located on McFarland Blvd right off I-59, the hotel is conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, and U of A. We requested a handicapped accessible room. The room was conveniently located by the office and the buffet area. It was very clean and had a nice TV and super-comfortable beds. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I chose this motel because I was traveling with my cat, moving him from Cincy to my daughter's house in New Orleans. All LaQuintas are pet friendly (except for 4 in the entire country, I think.) The location was good (except for being a little hard to find back behind a couple other businesses), room was average, front desk person was friendly and helpful. Their pool area looked very nice, altho I did not use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at other affordable hotels but La Quinta Inn was without a doubt the worst! Room service came in at 10 am on my first stay even though I had prepaid for 2 nights and check out times are at noon. Since I was sleeping I told them to come back, and they never did, they didnt even leave clean towels. When I reported this to the front desk, I was told to come get my towels in person.

I was also very dissatisfied with the breakfast. All they had was 1 waffle machine for everyone, so you can imagine the long line and wait.

I do not recommend this hotel at all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Address: 4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.