We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Not Improve Over the Years” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Lauderdale, Mississippi
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Did Not Improve Over the Years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Ten years ago, I married my wife and during our honeymoon trip we spent a night here. We found it a nice and clean and probably would have recommended it to anyone. Unfortunately, we didn't realize that ten years ago was the last time they changed the room. We decided to book a room here through Hotel.com while heading to Atlanta. When we first showed up, we waited for 15 minutes and nobody showed at the front desk. We left and returned an hour later. Lady behind desk was nice enough. The room was roomy but that was the only good point. Waterstains on ceiling, trash left in cans, broken fridge, only one towel in bathroom, funky odor in room (We found it was coming from bedsheets. We broke out sleeping bags from camping trip.). List goes on and on and on. Outside the room it got worse. Ice machine didn't work. Vending machines broken. Pool closed for season (In July in the south). The air conditioner DID work, which was pleasant surprise. To add insult to injury, breakfast was closed in morning since that ran out of food. Recommend sleeping in your car over staying here.

Room Tip: Go across the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    39
    50
    75
See reviews for
98
40
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

room was not clean the staff was very smart mouth , it was storming so we stop to rest , I was told my AARP was not taken there nor did my points matter. She was on her cell not concerned about us at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We have stopped here a couple of times, as it is a good resting point on our drive to the Smoky Mountains. The positives are that it is near the freeway, the staff is polite and friendly, and it is clean. The negative is it could use an update. For our purposes, just to grab some sleep before heading out early for Sevierville, it is fine. No safety issues that I could see. Just a clean, if dated, room and nice staff, and very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

LQ regulars will recognize the rooms; they will have been seeing them for decades. But, the room was clean. All outside rooms. Breakfast plain, as expected. Staff were all friendly and helpful; but not well-informed about LQ returns Elite benefits. I had to ask for my water, explain the upgrade, and explain the late checkout privileges. Internet service was occasionally interrupted. BUT, the price is low and if you know what you are getting in advance you should be satisfied with an overnight stay. The place just shows its age.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Typical older motel. You get what you pay for and in this case, that is a bed and a bathroom, and some freeway noise, and some loud guests in an adjacent room and some updating needed. No need to stay here unless the rate is cheaper; there are better choices if price is not paramount.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abilene, tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

My daughter and I were travelling alone with the grandkids and two dogs from Texas to North Carolina. This was our half way point and we needed a place that allowed pets. We paid 49.00 for the room and all I can say is you get what you pay for. The rooms are outside rooms and although we were safe there...I didn't feel like we were. The room had a funny smell, hair in the sink, and stains on the sheets. Thank goodness I was so tired that I didn't notice the stains on the sheet until the next morning. I did point this out to the front desk the next morning. The breakfast was your typical La Quinta breakfast. Knowing what I know now...I wished we had drove on in to Birmingham and stayed at the Homewood location. It was much nicer and in a better location with inside rooms.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

LQ is one of my favorite motels. Very clean and well appointed. Coffee maker and Microwave. Large bath and good shower. Wireless intrernet works very well after I went to Walmart and purchased a G adaptor. Excellent rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Address: 4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.