We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Look but poor Performance at this Ramada” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Ramada Tuscaloosa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   631 Skyland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Look but poor Performance at this Ramada”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ramada Inns certainly aren’t upscale, yet this one just four miles from the University of Alabama campus has much to commend it. Each room has an iron and ironing board plus a refrigerator and microwave . A large art reproduction hangs over the bed, with a 32 inch Samsung widescreen TV above the dresser. Outside the swimming pool, ranging from three to six feet deep, is well maintained. The lobby impresses, with nice furniture and carpeting. Two spiraling staircases take you to the second floor. At the top of the staircase stands a beautiful wooden book case, elegant and classy. (sadly, no books on the shelves to read). The continental breakfast has the normal bagels, small pastries, cold cereals and instant oatmeal; it also has a nice do-it -yourself wafflemaker, for fresh, fluffy Belgian waffles.
But three surprises made our overall night a disappointing experience. The TV features either wavy lines or slight snow on cable channels 1-10.We gave up watching CBS, ABC, and CBS and a few local channels, but fortunately we could see clearly any of the other twenty-some stations. Second, our door would open from the outside only with a good shoulder shove or, in the case of my teen son, a hip check. I thought this was due to southern humidity on these exterior entrances, but in the morning at 7 a.m., we still could not open the door without a huge push. I reported this to the front desk person; he expressed regrets but didn’t immediately fix it. Third, the toilet-tank stopper would not reset after a flush, causing an all-night running toilet. The bathroom had a nice shower head, but the caulking at the top of the shower is separating. So overall, a mixed review at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry that your stay wasn't completely perfect, but want to let you know that each of the issues will be addressed with our owners. We hope that if you come back to Tuscaloosa, you will choose to give us another shot!

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    46
    38
    26
    51
See reviews for
75
26
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel the week of June 10th. One of the primary reasons we picked the Ramada was because of the pool so that our kids could use it at the end of a hot day. It was bright green and closed. We complained but the hotel management basically told us "tough luck". They did not handle the situation well at all.

Our room was very average. The bathroom shower head was broken. Also, we asked for extra pillows and were told that none were available. The only good thing I can say is that at least the room was clean.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that your visit was less than satisfactorily. We definitely had some issues with algae in our pool and have worked diligently to work on this issue. We hope that if you come to Tuscaloosa, you will choose to give us another shot!

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a very reasonably priced place in a busy area of the city near the main exit to the university. Everything about it is average but the people who were very nice. Our room faced the pool which was shut down unfortunately for repairs. My son was rather disappointed but i can't hold that against the hotel as a pool owner- you never know when a pump part will go out. Our reserved check in was flawless with our location request met. We found the room to be clean and bug-free. My husband swept the beds immediately for bed bugs and found not one sign. Kudos to the hotel for purchasing bed bug mattress covers! Breakfast was simple but plentiful. The fresh fruit and waffles were great. My only complaint was the small size of the service area. We used the laundry for my son's camp shorts so kudos to them for that as well. Full beds a bit small but they slept well enough. Quiet after 10, Overall a nice 3 day stay for football camp that didn't kill our budget for a place we spent little time in other than sleeping.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool on interior side are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our property is older than the majority of hotels in the area, but we want to make sure customer service in regards to our guest is top notch! We did have issues with our pool at the beginning of the summer and appreciate that you understand maintaining a pool this large can be quite an adventure. Please come and visit us again if you come to Tuscaloosa.

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed one night after a long trip. I was going to stay three night but this hotel was not up to what i come to expect from Ramada. The room was very drity the smell was nasty.

Room Tip: clean rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for review. I am truly sorry that your experience with us was not a good one. We strive everyday to ensure that our guest are happy and comfortable when they stay with us. I hope if you come this way, you will give us another shot to show you that we do listen to each of our reviews and take action to make sure things are done correctly.

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

On a trip to Atlanta, we had planned to stop in Meridian, MS, as a stopping point on our way from Brenham, TX. When we got there around 7 pm, it was inundated with motorcyclists. They were EVERYWHERE and it was difficult to maneuver in this town. We finally decided to move on and go to Tuscaloos, AL, another hour and a half. After reading some reviews on Tripadvisor, I chose to call this place as we were driving. A very nice young man was busy with customers, but promised to hold a room for me as we were on our way. True to his word, he had a room waiting for us and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was, including the Continental breakfast. Definitely would recommend this place for price and convenience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so very glad to hear that our staff member was able to assist you! His actions were what we would expect of all of our staff members and though at times we may not be able to do everything, we do want people to know we will always do what is in our power to ensure top notch customer service.

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were in town for Alabama's graduation weekend. I had booked the rooms a year in advance, but had forgotten to change our arrival date. When we arrived (a day later than I had reserved) our reservation had been cancelled, of course. Being graduation weekend, we were afraid we wouldn't have anyplace to stay. The General Manager, however, came to our rescue. She found us rooms next door at the Candlewood Suites, and made sure that all of our special requests were met. We needed two pet-friendly, first floor rooms, and she made it all happen in the most courteous way. She waived as many of the extra charges as she could. We have stayed there in the past and have found every single staff member goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Must start from the top with the GM - she saved our trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadaoftuscaloosa, General Manager at Ramada Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you! I am so glad we were able to get you situated!

Hospitably Yours,
Janell Colburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Place is looking run down, furniture was dusty, got room on bottom floor but window was open and could not be locked. Shower would not come on properly, (water half from shower and half from tub spout) and tub would not drain at all!!!! Front desk offered to bring draino but never got it. For $65 I got ripped off!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tuscaloosa

Address: 631 Skyland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Ramada Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.