We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capstone to your Saves list
Hotel Capstone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Old world hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was nice and conveniently next to the UofAL. It was tasteful yet a bit dated and rooms could really use an upgrade. Service was good and food was solid. Bar area was also nice. In my room you could hear the outside and hallway noises and towels were a bit threadbare.

Room Tip: get one of the junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    35
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
7
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Have stayed there many times since our son started college. The staff is friendly and very honest. I just got back and left a good set of headphones in my room by mistake. Called this morning and they had them in the lost and found!!!! Also, Ralph at the front desk is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have checked and re-checked for the money and for the (Women) out there and todays world the men this is the place to stay. It is by far not the cheapest but it is super super clean and a feeling for relaxation when you enter the doors. The pool is amazing on a hot Alabama day and lots of umbrellas and seats to rest. The beds are cloudy luxury and the bath is huge and very modern.
We used this room for sports events and the convenience was worth any extra money-lots of the streets are one way in this city and you dont want to be lost
on a one way street when trying to get to your event. They say the offer shuttle and
security but we were never able to get a shuttle when we tried to arrange a(so dont count on that when you get there) and evening parking was a bit full so dont get back very late (and we never saw security) and we were teased when getting back one night late that we were going to get mugged by some teens who thought it was funny for a couple of girls alone. As a cautious and totally admit it traveler be back before dark for a good parking place - and safety- be sure not to count of that transportation - for us it did not exist. On the good side once in you have a more than comfy clean hotel and will sleep like a baby. Nice bar area and the staff at the hotel couldnt be any finer. If you can book this place for a group you couldnt ask for more. The food for catering was given rave reviews by the people we met in the lobby. You can order from the restaurant which we did always at the closing time and just was decent-not great, not bad-but even at that hour they smiled and were eager to provide with no grunts or frowns. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION CANT TOUCH THE TRAVEL TIME.

Room Tip: get the luxury bed- it is so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed there several times and each time was excellent. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the rest of the hotel is very well maintained. All staff were super. Breakfast buffet is excellent. The small hotel bar very nice, great place to have a drink at the end of the day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We thank this guest for their kind review and loyal patronage. We look forward to seeing them on their next trip to Tuscaloosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARWICH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was totally clean and lovely. The room was large, and well appointed. The only drawback was the handicapped shower, which I did request. In order to turn on the water you have to reach around the glass so far you can not avoid getting wet. The shower head was also very high and fixed as opposed to a shower hose. Unfortunately the shower door opens out with all the wet water dripping onto the floor. No way to avoid this even if one is able bodied. Although this is not specifically a hotel issue, I do not understand the mechanics of this type of shower. Having someone negotiate this on one leg was fairly frustrating. All of our other experiences. including the staff was wonderful. This is my first choice for UA events.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We thank this gust for their kind words regarding the hotel, and we regret that the design of the shower created problems for them. If they would like to contact me offline at (205) 343-1103 I would be happy to discuss this with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can't go wrong here at Hotel Capstone! Room was superbly comfortable and very clean. And you will not find a better location in Tuscaloosa. The restaurant was great also! Breakfast buffet was superb, and the late night brick oven pizza is amazing. Walking distance to nearly everything fun to do. Just can't beat this place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We thank this guest for taking the time to write a review of this hotel and for the very nice remarks. We hope we get to see him on his next trip to Tuscaloosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Capstone many times. This trip was most enjoyable. Everyone from the front desk staff, Restaurant staff, room service always make you feel welcome and exceed guests expectations.

The rooms have been remodeled, I would recommend this hotel for any occasion!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We thank this guest for choosing to stay at Hotel Capstone on A-Day weekend and for the very nice remarks. We hope to see them again soon! Roll Tide!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Capstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capstone

Address: 320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#12 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capstone 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Capstone is ideally located on the University of Alabama's lovely Tuscaloosa campus and offers the perfect spot for business or leisure. Plan a meeting or event with us, and enjoy 8,300 sq. ft. of meeting space. Hotel Capstone is proud to be the only full-service hotel in the Tuscaloosa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Groupon so you can book your Hotel Capstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Four Points
Capstone Hotel Tuscaloosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.