We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed while touring Alabama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capstone to your Saves list
Hotel Capstone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stayed while touring Alabama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location of the hotel is perfect, essentially right on campus, directly across the street from the basketball arena. The rooms are large but could use some updating. The same could be said for the lobby. The service is top notch. If you're visiting the University, it's a fine option.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We thank this guest for their kind review and hope we will get to see them the next time they are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    30
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
57
6
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always stay at the Capstone when visiting our daughter at the University of Alabama. It is located across the street from many of the dorms and only a short walk to the stadium. The hotel rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. If you have ever been to a football game, you will understand why walking distance is a good thing. Even if you do not stay at the Capstone, the lounge is a great place to celebrate post game with fellow Crimson Tide fans and wait for traffic to subside. Make your reservations months in advance as there are only a handful of rooms available on the Friday night before home games. The UA football team stays at the Capstone on Friday night, taking up almost all of the available rooms.

Room Tip: I've stayed there several times in different areas of the hotel. Haven't had a bad experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We thank this guest for the kind review and look forward to seeing them on their next trip to Tuscaloosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardendale, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No other hotel in the area compares in terms of location and facilities, but what really sets the Hotel Capstone apart is the exceptional level of service. Ralph Shaw, who was running the front desk during the daytime during our visit, was quick to assist when an unexpected extra guest appeared and to insure that some special needs we had were promptly satisfied. Other hotel personnel were unfailingly helpful and pleasant, from the restaurant to the lobby staff. There was not a single issue I could quibble with during our four day stay: it is just an exceptional place and a seriously capable and hospitable staff.

Room Tip: Executive level rooms face Bryant Museum and Conference Center courtyard and Coleman, and come with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks to this guest for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are always especially happy when a guest remarks about superlative service. We are glad that they mentioned a staff member by name so we can make sure they are properly recognized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Capstone with my wife. We sre touring a number of schools for our soon in hopes he will make the right choice! We ordered room service for breakfast and Talia was great! She suggested the omelette and it was fantastic. It got to us fast and she was super friendly (great smile)! We also had a few drinks at the bar and Ashley was super friendly! Drinks were awesome! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We thank this guest for taking the time to review us and are very happy that they enjoyed their visit. We thank them for specifically mentioning an associate and will make sure that she is recognized and rewarded for excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service at this hotel was superior! I had a noise problem with the room next door (crying baby) and the staff, even though there were no available rooms to move me to, brought in several noise canceling devices to help me try to sleep. The second morning I was there I ordered room services (which was delicious) and I forgot to get my receipt. Ashley H was kind enough to bring it back by later in the morning for me. Very considerate service at this hotel.

Room Tip: The only issue I had with my room was that there was a sick child in the room next to me that cried...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We thank this guest for their review. We are always happy to hear of superlative service and appreciate it when an associate is mentioned by name so we can give them special recognition and reward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want to be in the middle of the University of Alabama...this is the place to be. Great rooms, reasonably priced and everyone was very nice and helpful. Will definitely stay again (especially if my daughter becomes a student).

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We thank this guest for their review. We are very happy they enjoyed their visit and look forward to seeing them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Hotel Capstone is the most convenient hotel if you are visiting the University of Alabama. My daughter and I recently stayed at the hotel during a college visit. It is so easy to get around the campus and walk back to your hotel. You don't have to worry about parking your car on campus and they even have a shuttle!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We thank this guest for taking the time to write this nice review. We are the best location in town for campus visits and offer free parking and shuttle service. Roll Tide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capstone

Address: 320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#13 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capstone 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Capstone is ideally located on the University of Alabama's lovely Tuscaloosa campus and offers the perfect spot for business or leisure. Plan a meeting or event with us, and enjoy 8,300 sq. ft. of meeting space. Hotel Capstone is proud to be the only full-service hotel in the Tuscaloosa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Capstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Four Points
Capstone Hotel Tuscaloosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.