We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capstone to your Saves list
Hotel Capstone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was larger than typical hotel rooms. While a few of the furnishing were dated, the overall room was nice and relaxing. The restaurant staff were friendly and the food was good. I will defintely return next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
54
6
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted with great politeness - and some little bemusement - as to why an English couple were at the university of Alabama just before Xmas (my wife is an alumna).
Room was a huge suite, very comfortable - as it was in the run-up to Xmas we didn't use many of the hotel facilities - but the exercise centre was genuinely open 24 hours/day. Our room was at the far end of the hotel - and with few other guests it was very quiet.
Location terrific - probably no more than a 10 minutes leisurely stroll to the Denny Chimes - and this is the key selling point. As we were staying with friends we shortened our stay by one night from 3 to 2 - no problems with getting this changed when we arrived.
Recommended by friends who stay here each they they come to Tuscaloosa - if they can get a room! Can see why.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was hoping for the best, but was disappointed. You expect everything at the University of Alabama to be top notch, but I'm afraid this missed the mark. There was a funky, stale smell in the hall. The room was mostly clean, but I noticed dust on the lamps and a smear on the nightstand. Staff was courteous and helpful. Food was very good, but the restaurant was tucked away and awkwardly laid out, not to mention small. I think Bama can do better for THE campus hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We thank this guest for taking the time to relay their thoughts regarding their recent visit. We are disappointed as well that that their experience here fell short of their, and our, expectations. I will be happy to speak with them if they would like to contact me. In the review the guest mentions this being the University's hotel. Although Hotel Capstone sits on university land, and enjoys a very good relationship with the University, it is a privately owned business. A shortcoming at the hotel should not be construed to reflect upon the University itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here one night. Hotel is older and seems to have been renovated but not sure if the renovations were finished. The public spaces are very nice. Room was very large and quiet although I did hear some loud door closings and since it didn't appear many rooms were occupied, it might be quite noisy if the hotel was more occupied. Beds were comfortable but only 3 small pillows per bed which might be an issue. No tub - just a shower and the rain shower head/water pressure isn't really powerful enough to wash hair very well. There is no shelf for feet so shaving legs is difficult. Ceiling was stained in bedroom and peeling in bathroom. The biggest negative were no closet doors on the closet! Since the hotel was not busy - I don't know why they would put guests in a room that appeared to need maintenance and was missing doors. The TV also did not work well and we could not get some channels including one that we really wanted to watch a show on. When we called the front desk about the TV issue, the clerk did not seem concerned. AC/Heat system is very old. Room did have a large nice chair and ottoman for reading or watching TV which is nice so you don't have to sit on the bed or in the desk chair. Desk had some spots which look liked cigarette burns so it may have been older since room is non-smoking. Breakfast was okay and items were pretty plain and not terribly healthy or appetizing looking or sounding. Items we ordered did not match the description on the menu when they arrived. Menu could use some updating. Business Center was in a small room that was incredibly hot and stuffy. Had to prop open the door just to get some air.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We thank this guest for taking the time to write regarding their visit with us and we apologize for any shortcomings. We have reached out to the guest so that we may make things right with them and to discuss plans to address the issues they mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for four nights over Halloween weekend to attend a sporting event,and to visit my son while he was on break. Once again the Hotel Capstone was fantastic. Service cannot be beat. Ralph and Chad at the desk just cannot do enough for you and in the most professional yet friendly manner. Everyone in the Legends Bistro and the Lounge were fabulous, they all do a great job and you can tell they are proud of where they work. Michelle is so pleasant and always checks to make sure everyone is good. Hats off to Jake, Ashley and Ashley - they do a phenomenal job.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We thank this guest for their kind review and repeated patronage of the hotel. Thank you also for specifically mentioning staff members who have provided outstanding service. We look forward to seeing you in 2015. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We spent two nights in the middle of the week at Capstone while in Tuscaloosa on business. All of the staff were very welcoming and helpful but not overly familiar. The room had a comfortable bed and updated décor (e.g., glass shower, contemporary furniture, etc.). My only observation was that the bathroom was a little cramped. The complimentary breakfast buffet had a good variety of hot and cold offerings and servers who kept the coffee refilled. The setting was quiet and convenient to U of Alabama. We would definitely stay there again. Next time, we would request a suite so as to have the convenience of a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We thank this guest for their kind remarks and are happy they enjoyed their visit. We are glad they enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast which we make available during the holidays when staffing is scaled back and the full service menu is not available. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The staff is fantastic - the check in process was a breeze; unfortunately we had to leave suddenly due to a family emergency and Chad, who was working the front desk, took care of us and did not charge us for the room. He went above and beyond for us!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
We thank this guest for their kind review and we are happy they enjoyed their visit. We always appreciate it when a guest specifically mentions a staff member and we will make sure that Chad is recognized for his service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capstone

Address: 320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capstone 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Capstone is ideally located on the University of Alabama's lovely Tuscaloosa campus and offers the perfect spot for business or leisure. Plan a meeting or event with us, and enjoy 8,300 sq. ft. of meeting space. Hotel Capstone is proud to be the only full-service hotel in the Tuscaloosa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Capstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Four Points
Capstone Hotel Tuscaloosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.