We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capstone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Capstone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Capstone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here while visiting for a tour of 'Bama. Very nice and super convenient! The comfort of the rooms is comparable to a 4* hotel...nicely furnished, good linens, clean, well appointed bathroom. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, and it was delicious and reasonably priced. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We thank this guest for their nice remarks and we look forward to seeing them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
2
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed for Homecoming with my family had 2 rooms. As always front desk staff awesome. Newly remodeled rooms comfortable. Only complaint bathrooms are very small. breakfast good and reasonably priced. grand daughter enjoyed the pool also. So easy to walk to campus makes it a great choice when visiting
overall great stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are very happy that this guest enjoyed their visit and we thank them for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have a student staying on the UA campus and decided to give this hotel a try on a non-football weekend. Loved the location as we were able to walk the campus and walk right across the street to the Catholic church. We had a "suite" which was really just an extra large room with a couch and coffee table. The pull out couch was not particularly comfortable for my teenager, but survivable when we asked for an extra comforter and pillows. Asked for extra chairs as the desk chair was the only one in the room and we had guests visit. Staff readily brought some banquet chairs but they were a bit wobbly. Overall a clean, mostly quiet room with good décor. We were in room 373 which did not have any counter space as it looks like the laundry chute is right outside the room. I would highly recommend that the hotel install some hooks, shelves and or towel bars to help out with this situation as the tiny vanity drawers were inadequate. Overall a great stay and we would definitely choose this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for a different suite than 373.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We thank this guest for their kind remarks. Lack of adequate shelf space in the bathroom was identified after the bathroom renovation was complete and we have additional cabinetry on order. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused our guest. We look forward to serving them during their next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schnec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

While it seems to have lost some of its overall management since changing from Sheraton, it is still a good place to stay. It's just at the edge of the U of AL campus, a draw for alums and a great place to have reunions and parties, and is surrounded by beautiful grounds.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel Capstone is the most convenient location of all to visit the campus! Everyone is ALWAYS friendly and they have done some great renovations in the restaurant and in the rooms. The food was good dinner and breakfast. Had a wonderful server for breakfast named Debra. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy that this guest enjoyed their visit, and we are always appreciative when our associates are mentioned by name so that they can receive special recognition form providing our guests superior service. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for the FUN. concert at the Tuscaloosa Amphitheater. Our rooms were nice & clean, the pool area was totally empty which we enjoyed, the wifi was strong and free, parking was close and free, and there was breakfast nearby within walking distance in case you didn't want the breakfast in the restaurant. We did stop in for the hotel's breakfast on our last day and it was good. They didn't have the buffett that day because the hotel guest count wasn't high enough (?) but we didn't mind. Service was good, prive was as expected. ~30 for 2 coffees and 2 skillets (potatoes and veggies with eggs and cheese on top in a big skillet, very yummy) I'd definitely recommend this place and we'd stay here again if we ever come back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy that this guest enjoyed their visit and thank them for the very nice review. We look forward to serving them on their next visit to Tuscaloosa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elba, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Recently completed my stay at the Capstone and look forward to a chance to return. Was in Tuscaloosa for a business trip and stayed at the Hotel Capstone. The recent renovations have made this property very modern and up to date. The room was of excellent size and the amenities appropriate. Staff was vey knowledgable and pleasent to interact with. The best part of the hotel is its location on the campus of the University of Alabama. Next time you travel to Tusacaloosa look no further stay at The Hotel Capstone!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry C, General Manager at Hotel Capstone, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are glad that this contributor chose Hotel Capstone during their recent trip to Tuscaloosa. We are very happy that they enjoyed their stay and look forward to seeing them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Capstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capstone

Also Known As:
Four Points Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Four Points
Capstone Hotel Tuscaloosa
Address: 320 Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#12 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capstone 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Capstone is ideally located on the University of Alabama's lovely Tuscaloosa campus and offers the perfect spot for business or leisure. Plan a meeting or event with us, and enjoy 8,300 sq. ft. of meeting space. Hotel Capstone is proud to be the only full-service hotel in the Tuscaloosa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Capstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.