We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center
2700 Yacht Club Way NE, Tuscaloosa, AL 35406 (Formerly The Warner Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
“Beautiful location, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Yellowhammer for a football weekend. As the away team, we were blown away by how nice the staff was. The owner and his wife were on site to greet us when checking in. Charlie, the Assistant Manager, was helpful and nice; he braved game-day traffic to drive a shuttle for the hotel guests to attend the game! Though we didn't have time to golf, the course and grounds were beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. Friday night featured live entertainment, food and drinks for socializing; breakfast was available both Saturday and Sunday. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
32
13
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Came to Tuscaloosa with friends from Colorado to attend a football game vs. the University of Alabama. The hospitality from people all over the city was tremendous, and especially notable at the Yellowhammer Inn. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, and went out of their way to serve us. The hotel is quaint, tucked into the woods, right near a beautiful golf course. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Tuscaloosa. It's several miles from campus, but the atmosphere and hospitality are worth the tad-longer drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

For about what you will pay a night at a Hampton Inn, you can enjoy this boutique hotel in a country club setting. Our king junior suite was spacious, and had a very comfortable bed. WiFi access was reliable, but there was no desk & chair in our room, so ended up having to setup the laptop on the coffee table. Housekeeping is good, the bathroom and room were immaculate. The 4 days we were there, we were the only guests in the hotel! It seems this place sells out on football weekends, but is otherwise fairly quiet. Fine by us! No onsite restaurant, but they do a basic Continental breakfast in the mornings, included in the room rate. Typical weak Southern coffee, would have killed for a proper cappuccino or espresso close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Love the feeling of being in the woods. The lake is nearby .
Acess to lovely swimming pool.
It has a wonderful lodge feeling.
Would stay here often.
Short drive to restaurants and shopping.
Free breakfast and Internet .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here as part of a wedding party and LOVED it. The atmosphere and setting is wonderful! A nice, quaint, out of the way specialty hotel. The only negative would be that the water pressure in the shower was disappointing, but the other perks more than made up for that. Will definitely be staying here again and the staff was exceptionally nice. Thank you Jack Warner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We've stayed there 3 times in the last 5 years. The positive: Out of the way, beautiful wooded location, nice staff, adequate & nice breakfast. This last visit we found a (dead) roach hiding under the edge of the bed skirt. I left it purposely visible so the maid could see and correct her oversight. Upon returning for our second night, It was still there! Further investigation revealed a dirty sock as well. Yuck! Furthermore my side of the bed was so "cratered"/worn out that when I complained to my wife, she offered to exchange sides with me ...and regretted doing so! The next morning I discretely brought all (including sock) to the attention of one of the owners, Ms. Susan Warner, who listened but made no immediate compensation for their shortcomings. I fully expected to receive a response in the weeks since but have not, leaving me only this outlet for my relief. Had I received a follow-up, I would have extended this further advice: The bed complement consists only of a sheet and a heavy comforter-bedspread (I have to wonder if it EVER gets washed). You have to turn down the air-conditioning down to 64 degrees to have a comfortable night's sleep. I see that the investment in a light, easily washable blanket would enhance the experience and pay for itself in short order in terms of expensive electricity/ air-conditioning in the upcoming, sure-to-be hot Alabama summer. Is there anybody in there?

Room Tip: Keep looking. Avoid. $180 per night rate should afford you better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wedding and stayed at the Yellowhammer Inn. It is such a lovely location. Our room had shutters that set it apart from being in a hotel. The windows looked out on a beautiful wooded area. The bed was super comfy!! My husband is very picky about beds because he has had about 4 neck and back surgeries. The bed was an instant hit with him. I love the area where they have the included continental breakfast. You feel like you are going into the library and it also looks out upon the woods. The staff was super nice, too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center

Address: 2700 Yacht Club Way NE, Tuscaloosa, AL 35406 (Formerly The Warner Lodge)
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the art of relaxation in our wooded setting, explore the beauty of Lake Tuscaloosa and enjoy the peace that the Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center brings to your vacation; located only 12 miles from Tuscaloosa. Whether it's golf, tennis, swimming, fitness, art or garden tours, there are endless opportunities to enjoy the natural and cultural habitat of the Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowhammer Hotel Tuscaloosa
Yellowhammer Inn And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.