We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center
2700 Yacht Club Way NE, Tuscaloosa, AL 35406 (Formerly The Warner Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Starkville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This is one of my favorite places to stay. It's off the beaten path but worth the short drive. Best rooms in town for the price. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. If I have to make a negative comment it would be the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    16
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
30
12
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Yellowhammer Inn for two years My elderly mother is 30 miles away, and this is a convenient place to stay when we visit her. We visit her every other month plus November and December. Unfortunately, the Inn is under new management, and the new management isn't as easy to deal with as the prior management. A couple of weeks ago we were there, and I tried to make reservations for our visits next year. I was told that the Inn now requires a prepayment for the first night's stay. We only stay one night so I would have to have six nights' stay put on my credit card. Because my mother is 81, anything could happen during the next year to cause me to cancel any or all of my reservations for the year. I sent an email to the manager and to the reservations manager, and as of today no one has even deigned to answer my email. This leads me to the conclusion that the new management does not value us as their long time customer. They could have least sent me an email to say they were sorry that they could no longer accommodate us. We have truly enjoyed our stays there, and we will miss going there. However, we will now be staying in Birmingham...we found another hotel that does value our business and all my reservations are made WITHOUT a charge to my credit card.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband found this inn on TripAdvisor when we were looking for a place to stay the night before we dropped our son off at school. The drive away from town made us uneasy (after a long evening of driving) but turned out to be scenic and relatively short. This place is a strange mix, with lovely grounds and exterior and somewhat odd decor inside (think Gothic chandeliers and mounted animal heads). The rooms were comfortable, and the bathrooms were recently updated. The only complaint I have is that noise carried from other rooms. (Our neighbors hosted a get-together, and we felt like they were in our room.) Breakfast was typical continental fare. Price was good, so we'll probably stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from other guests as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very nice place to stay. Out of the way and quiet. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. If you stay here on a non-football night the price and comfort can't be beat. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Spent 3 successive weekends there while my wife attended seminars at the University. Staff were always friendly. But on all 3 weekends air conditioning was feeble in rooms and in common areas. They had floor fans scattered around the lobby and breakfast area to keep air moving but it was not what you would expect. Last weekend no hot water Saturday morning. No apology on check our, no follow up email. Sent a letter to the General Manager a month ago. No response. Obviously the staff are burdened with managers who don't care. This property has awesome potential that is being wasted with the current management

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are very appreciative that despite the inconveniecne on your 3rd stay at the inn, that we did provide something that brought yourself, as we do many guests back multiple times.

The staff at the inn, responded quickly the time the hot water boiler did malfunction in the late evening to have an emergency repair done and hot water working by the next morning. Unfortunately, the unexpected can happen at the most inopportune times. As for the AC, the historic heat wave that affected 2/3 of the population of the US with heat indecies climbing to 110 degrees did stress our cooling system...Fortunately it did not go out as many businesses and residences did.. Our fans were our effort to keep our guests extral cool during the heat wave.

Although I was unable to apologize personally to every guest who went with warm water that evening (I was frantically helping the emergency repair man get the system repaired) We did accomodate any guest that had a concern as there were those who did have hot water, and those who did not, without us being able to identify those unless they brought it to our attention.

We fully appreciate all of the gracious return guests we have at the inn, and will continue to accomodate them and solve any unforseen emergencies as quickly as possible. We really appreciate you having the confidence in us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

While this is in a lovely setting, that definately was the high point of our stay at the Yellowhammer. We arrived around 9 pm after having a bit of trouble finding the sign for Yacht Club Way (it was quite dark). It turns out we had unknowingly turned onto it but stopped and flagged someone down who was driving by and led us to the Inn.

After driving up to the lobby/entry, I was pleased by the look of the inn. Unfortunately, we were checked in by staff who was not helpful or friendly (I believe her name was Kristin). We were hungry and all that was available was a vending machine full of snack type food so we asked her if anyone in the area delivered. She informed us that it was too late for any place that delivers but when we called broadway pizzeria from their list of local restaurants we were told that they deliver up to 10:30. Not a big deal but she didn't go out of her way to help us or wasn't very well informed. I realize that there are places to eat within driving distance but we'd been on the road all day and weren't familiar with the area.

The beds were comfortable and the shutters were great for a dark room. The walls however, were quite thin and provide no soundproofing. In fact, the next morning at 7 am, the alarm next door went off and woke us, I called the front desk who said they would send someone to turn it off as the guest had already checked out. They did eventually come but we heard them go by our door, enter the room, shut it off and close the door before heading back up the hallway.

Breakfast was pretty bleak even for a continental breakfast. The room it was served in was nice but the actual food items were pretty average.

My daughter hopes to attend UA but although I love the grounds of the property, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
I'm very happy to hear that although the front desk associate was unsure of what time delivery stopped at the multitude of eateries, that she was able to guide you to one that did!

We are also happy to hear that you found the place beautiful. Most of our guests comment on the great nature setting, and the value they recieve for the room costs.

We do serve a European style continental breakfast, consisting of basic items such as muffins, cereal and coffee as we are not a full service hotel. Thank you so much for your stay with us after what sounds like a long day of tiring travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semmes, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

A very quaint hotel with excellent service. The feel of the mountains with the convenience of the city. Beautiful golf course and surroundings. Very comfortable; can't wait to stay there again. So peaceful!!! Everyone from check in to check out are so friendly and helpful!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center

Address: 2700 Yacht Club Way NE, Tuscaloosa, AL 35406 (Formerly The Warner Lodge)
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the art of relaxation in our wooded setting, explore the beauty of Lake Tuscaloosa and enjoy the peace that the Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center brings to your vacation; located only 12 miles from Tuscaloosa. Whether it's golf, tennis, swimming, fitness, art or garden tours, there are endless opportunities to enjoy the natural and cultural habitat of the Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowhammer Hotel Tuscaloosa
Yellowhammer Inn And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.