We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center
2700 Yacht Club Way NE, Tuscaloosa, AL 35406 (Formerly The Warner Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Prattville AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Spent 3 successive weekends there while my wife attended seminars at the University. Staff were always friendly. But on all 3 weekends air conditioning was feeble in rooms and in common areas. They had floor fans scattered around the lobby and breakfast area to keep air moving but it was not what you would expect. Last weekend no hot water Saturday morning. No apology on check our, no follow up email. Sent a letter to the General Manager a month ago. No response. Obviously the staff are burdened with managers who don't care. This property has awesome potential that is being wasted with the current management

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are very appreciative that despite the inconveniecne on your 3rd stay at the inn, that we did provide something that brought yourself, as we do many guests back multiple times.

The staff at the inn, responded quickly the time the hot water boiler did malfunction in the late evening to have an emergency repair done and hot water working by the next morning. Unfortunately, the unexpected can happen at the most inopportune times. As for the AC, the historic heat wave that affected 2/3 of the population of the US with heat indecies climbing to 110 degrees did stress our cooling system...Fortunately it did not go out as many businesses and residences did.. Our fans were our effort to keep our guests extral cool during the heat wave.

Although I was unable to apologize personally to every guest who went with warm water that evening (I was frantically helping the emergency repair man get the system repaired) We did accomodate any guest that had a concern as there were those who did have hot water, and those who did not, without us being able to identify those unless they brought it to our attention.

We fully appreciate all of the gracious return guests we have at the inn, and will continue to accomodate them and solve any unforseen emergencies as quickly as possible. We really appreciate you having the confidence in us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
31
13
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
danville, ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

While this is in a lovely setting, that definately was the high point of our stay at the Yellowhammer. We arrived around 9 pm after having a bit of trouble finding the sign for Yacht Club Way (it was quite dark). It turns out we had unknowingly turned onto it but stopped and flagged someone down who was driving by and led us to the Inn.

After driving up to the lobby/entry, I was pleased by the look of the inn. Unfortunately, we were checked in by staff who was not helpful or friendly (I believe her name was Kristin). We were hungry and all that was available was a vending machine full of snack type food so we asked her if anyone in the area delivered. She informed us that it was too late for any place that delivers but when we called broadway pizzeria from their list of local restaurants we were told that they deliver up to 10:30. Not a big deal but she didn't go out of her way to help us or wasn't very well informed. I realize that there are places to eat within driving distance but we'd been on the road all day and weren't familiar with the area.

The beds were comfortable and the shutters were great for a dark room. The walls however, were quite thin and provide no soundproofing. In fact, the next morning at 7 am, the alarm next door went off and woke us, I called the front desk who said they would send someone to turn it off as the guest had already checked out. They did eventually come but we heard them go by our door, enter the room, shut it off and close the door before heading back up the hallway.

Breakfast was pretty bleak even for a continental breakfast. The room it was served in was nice but the actual food items were pretty average.

My daughter hopes to attend UA but although I love the grounds of the property, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
I'm very happy to hear that although the front desk associate was unsure of what time delivery stopped at the multitude of eateries, that she was able to guide you to one that did!

We are also happy to hear that you found the place beautiful. Most of our guests comment on the great nature setting, and the value they recieve for the room costs.

We do serve a European style continental breakfast, consisting of basic items such as muffins, cereal and coffee as we are not a full service hotel. Thank you so much for your stay with us after what sounds like a long day of tiring travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semmes, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

A very quaint hotel with excellent service. The feel of the mountains with the convenience of the city. Beautiful golf course and surroundings. Very comfortable; can't wait to stay there again. So peaceful!!! Everyone from check in to check out are so friendly and helpful!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was in search of a special spot for this most memorable moment when family would be descending from near and far to attend my daughters. graduation from the University of AL I discovered the Yellowhammer Inn - which looked very nice so I went ahead and made our reservations many months proior - for it was a Unversity graduation and rooms woudl be scarce.

Site is BEAUTIFUL.... staff is great- very attentive and very happy to assist with our many needs and special requests.

We will definately be back ..!!!

And yes... ROLL TIDE!

Room Tip: although no restaurant is right onsite, a nice continental breakfast is available each morning in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Yellowhammer Inn is truly a unique hotel....but not for everyone. With no pool or other family-oriented amenities, it may be a difficult place for a family with young children to enjoy. But it is surrounded by beautiful woodland and has a fantastic conference center nestled in the woods apart from the hotel, which would make it a great site for "get away from it all" conferences. We had a very large suite with older, but well-kept furniture and bedding. The bed wasn't so comfortable, and the walls are definitely too thin. But the surroundings and other interesting places on the premises, along with only one available TV channel (really), allow you to discover quiet places for yourself.

Room Tip: Corner suite is the best value - and with only one wall between you and the next occupant, a lot les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are glad our guests find our inn peaceful and enjoy it's setting. I would like to mention that the inn does a a full line up of cable TV channels available. It's likely that someone changed the TV channel instead of the channels via the digital cable converter. Our staff is always ready to assist when a guest has a question or concern, and we strive to resolve any of those as quickly as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I needed a place to stay and as usual, I began researching on line and came across this place. The price was so good, we were not sure what to expect. Well we were very surprised. It was a fabulously interesting place. The woods behind were beautiful as we walked across a bridge and down a railed walkway to the bottom. Our bedroom was very large with a really comfortable king bed. The bath was also large and updated. The room where we had breakfast had so much character as did the lobby with all of the art displays. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHRoberts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We enjoyed out time at the Yellowhammer. For the price we paid, it was a good value. As mentioned in other reviews, they tack on a $3/night resort fee that I think should just be included in the price. There's no on site pool, which is typical for this class of hotel - instead there is one available next door at the yacht club for and additonal fee of $10/night/room.

The location is beautiful. You drive through an upscale golf course community to get there, and the facility is nestled in a wooded mountainous setting. The area is very quiet at night... not your typical interstate noise and "walk next door to the Cracker Barrel" setup.

This hotel is independently owned, so there are things that would normally take place in a corporate chain that don't here. For example, there's no booklet in the room telling you about nearby amenities, or important information like how to access the pool and facilities next door at the yacht club. Coffee supplies weren't refreshed in the rooms every night by housekeeping. Another quirk - no desk in the room.

That said, it is evident that the new ownership of this hotel is working hard to upgrade the facilities. The Elevator looked brand new, and the room's bathroom was freshly remodeled as well. I'm guessing the room's door locks are on the short list for replacement... they're still using metal keys here. Everything was very clean.

We had a minor maintenence issue that required us to change rooms in the middle of the night (smoke detector low battery chirp) that was annoying - but the staff was very responsive, and gave us the room for that night at no charge.

I think the web site makes the place look a little nicer than it is in person - but that's not unusual. Overall it's a great little place to stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center

Address: 2700 Yacht Club Way NE, Tuscaloosa, AL 35406 (Formerly The Warner Lodge)
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the art of relaxation in our wooded setting, explore the beauty of Lake Tuscaloosa and enjoy the peace that the Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center brings to your vacation; located only 12 miles from Tuscaloosa. Whether it's golf, tennis, swimming, fitness, art or garden tours, there are endless opportunities to enjoy the natural and cultural habitat of the Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowhammer Hotel Tuscaloosa
Yellowhammer Inn And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowhammer Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.