We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and right off Interstate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3916 E McFarland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location and right off Interstate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Southern hospitality from the get-go! Staff friendly, rooms comfortable and large. Near I 20 and choices for eating. Not to forget,direct access north to UA campus. Would stay there, again! Hot breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
34
12
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were here for move in at university of Alabama. At first we were mad that we didn't get our usual hotel because we have never stayed here. But now we will stay here probably every other time. Check in was really easy and the lady behind the counter was great. We were on the second floor and never had to wait more than 30 seconds for the elevater. The room was really big and clean. The Internet was pretty good but was slow at times. Probably the best part was the location! The highway that took you easily to the university is right there but was not loud. There is a gas station next door that was easy to get to for snacks which was nice. And the hotel is on a street with a lot of restaurants and shops nearby but not loud. The breakfast was okay but not a lot of options(we went to Krispy Kreme the second day instead! Best decision ever!!!!!) overall it was an excelenthotel and we will be coming back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel in the past and it was good, but I had problems on this visit.
The room was very hot and the air conditioner was not cooling so I had to switch rooms.
In this room, the air conditioner was fine, but the toliet would not flush. The biggest problem was slow internet, which was faster late at night which means the hotel can't handle many people on the net at one time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

No, it's not the Taj Mahal. But it's clean and comfortable, and the front desk staff is wonderfully helpful and nice. There are laundry facilities, which I unexpectedly needed since one of our suitcases went missing and wasn't delivered until the next day. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Breakfast is ample and good, and there is something for everyone. It's centrally located, very close to the interstate and to all kinds of stores.

Some reviewers mentioned only being able to turn right out of the parking lot. There's a trick to this. Use the connecting road to drive over to the gas station, and then you'll be able to make a left onto McFarland Boulevard. You'll have to be careful, but you can do it.

Room Tip: The upper floors will give you less noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First time and last time, would not stay ever again! This hotel needs to be cleaned!!! The room had a musty smell and the comforter was so dirty we did not even use it!! Doors, walls, everything looked like it had not wiped clean in awhile!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our last visit to Tuscaloosa for awhile as our daughter graduated! We had 3rooms here for the family, 2 kings and one double. The hotel was very clean, all public areas and also our rooms.
Breakfast was nice, hot and cold items, coffee, juices etc. I know it's cool to make your own waffles, but I would appreciate a little parental supervision in this area. The under 7 age group really made a mess!
The beds were way too soft for us, all of us. We all discussed this and we think that maybe hotels could offer customers a choice, extra firm, firm, soft you know kinda like pillows? They had so much padding on them you just felt like you were sliding,sliding away.
Entering and exiting the hotel is a nightmare, unless of course you are coming in from the University or heading away from it ( sorry I don't know North, south etc). Because of this I would not stay here again unless it was the only option. It sits on the corner of the on ramp and you just can't cross McFarland as there is no light.
Front desk was helpful, put moms ice pack (for medication) in the kitchen freezer. Rooms has refrigerators but no freezer section.
Overall it was a lovely weekend, but due to the soft beds and location it would not be my first choice.

Room Tip: We had rooms on both sides of the hotel and didn't have any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped at this hotel at random and were so pleased with the wonderful staff and the welcome they gave us. Rooms were clean and the sheet crisp (a must). The breakfast the next morning was pretty darn good. This hotel has become our stopping place next time we visit our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 3916 E McFarland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Tuscaloosa
Comfort Suites Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.