We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mawde61. Staying the night in Tulsa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3916 E McFarland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mawde61. Staying the night in Tulsa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable .I had one minor irratation with the front desk.Around 6:00 pm I asked if I could purchase a cup of milk for my grandson so he could take his meds,the young man behind the front desk told me they did have milk but it was only for breakfast,I had to drive in the dark to purchase milk ,I think it was rude!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
34
12
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a coupon from one of the travel booklets picked up at a rest area, $79 for the night. We had room #102 on the first floor, just a few steps from the lobby. The room had 2 beds with a partial wall separating the sleeping area from the living area which had a couch, desk and chair, refrigerator and microwave. It was nice, but I did notice a few small signs of wear and tear on the furnishings. But it was clean so that's what really mattered. We went to dinner at the Shrimp Basket (we really enjoyed it) just down the road. I had no problems connecting to their internet both that evening, and again in the morning. The hotel is right by a busy road so there is a lot of road noise, but I sleep with ear plugs so it wasn't a problem. Maybe the rooms on the other side of the hall would have been a bit quieter. In the morning we enjoyed their breakfast. They had scrambled egg patties, bacon (had never seen bacon on a free hotel buffet before), regular and blueberry make-your-own waffles, oatmeal packets, several cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, breads, bagels, orange and apple juice and coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN USA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed in this property in March 2012, and it was fine, so decided to stay here again. My stay was for 3 nights.

When we arrived, the bedspreads looked like they had not really been made up very well. Upon looking closer, discovered that the batting in them had apparently become disconnected, balled up, etc., probably due to being used so much. They, and the other bedding, were clean and satisfactory otherwise; beds were quite comfortable. Room was clean, as was bath, with plenty of towels, etc.

The internet was TERRIBLE! According to my wifi-finder on my iPad, there were several choices in the hotel, none of which had more than 1 bar, and sometimes not even one would show up. When I could get on, the connection never lasted very long. I complained to the desk, and they said they would restart the servers, but didn't really help. Only worked well sitting in the lobby, which I did NOT want to do.

I try to stay in Choice Hotels, and can only remember one other that was below 'below par'. I will not stay here again without verifying that their internet has been fixed. Other than that, it is fine.

Room Tip: Stay on side opposite the interstate if you are a light sleeper. It is right beside I59/20 (I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Since I'm a Choice Member, I always try to stay at a Choice hotel.

This was a fairly new Comfort Suites, so it was clean and seemed bug-free. It IS right next to the freeway, though, so sometimes it was a little loud. It has free wifi that worked well/fast and the traditional free continental breakfast.

Having never been to Tuscaloosa before, we wanted to explore, and this hotel was not too far away (by car) from the funky down-town area which had some great places to eat and drink. It is obviously a college town.

I would have no problem staying here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel seems to be fairly new and clean. King Suite was nice (no smoking throughout), having a small frig/micro, along with a couch/sitting area and one 32" flat Plasmas TV. Breakfast was a good continental, eggs, sausage, bagels, rolls, toast, cereal, yogurt, coffee/juice/milk, etc..
The only downfall is its access, it is right off Interstate, but you have to cross traffic with no light to get there. Crossing traffic can be hard at times, along with heading the other way by crossing or making a u-turn to go back on 82.
The staff was helpful and very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatom, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is a suitable choice for a night or two. We stayed two nights for a football game and it was clean and comfortable. The only problems were we arrived late and took showers (a little low water pressure) and prepared for bed, only to find there were no linens for the fold out couch bed my daughter was sleeping on that night. We called the desk and was told to come to the desk and get some. We were given the linens but no pillow. After asking for a pillow, we were told use one of the extras off the bed. Well there were no extras because two are needed for those thin pillows. We were given the pillow. Also, parking is a premium here. You may have to park next door and walk back. It is a convenient location and quieter than some other hotels in Tuscaloosa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very clean and comfortable rooms. We were traveling with my 80 year old mother and needed a handicap accessible room. We choose Comfort Suites because they have very large handicap rooms available. Comfort Suites always have the most comfortable beds and pillows of any hotel chain. Rooms are always very clean. Breakfast is always great and included with your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 3916 E McFarland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Tuscaloosa
Comfort Suites Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.