We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Close But Quite Plain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3916 E McFarland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean and Close But Quite Plain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in this hotel to drop off our daughter to college. The commute to UA was short and the hotel was right off the highway. parking was ample and safe. Rooms were clean and and pretty large. Beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and towels and toiletries nice. The hotel lobby was sparce and plain.Very small. It was, however, clean. The staff was polite and efficient but not chatty. If we asked them a question they were helpful. It is not the sort of lobby you would hang out in at night to visit. The breakfast was okay. They had something different both days for a hot offering. If you wasnt a no frills sort of experience with a clean room, this hotel would be perfect. It is a good choice for the location as it is surrounded by similar style hotels, gas stations and fast foood. Very convenient for efficient travel. A good value. If you're looking for all the little extras, look a little farther.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
12
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband, daughter and myself stayed in Tuscaloosa for one week. Had a very nice time. Staff was nice. The hotel room was clean, indoor pool didn't appear to be cleaned daily, as I saw a bunch of gunk in the bottom, and no chlorine smell. We loved the location, which is close to restaurants, the expressway, and the malls/stores.

The mattress is comfortable but queen bed is not big enough if you're sleeping two.
The Free WIFI was terrible, as it never worked. However, it was quite easy to pick up the WIFI from Best Western, which is located across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have stayed at this property before; several years ago shortly after it opened. At that time I was impressed with the rooms and the service.

This time the property was beginning to show its age, in need of a sprucing up in some areas. Still acceptable, however.

Having had a bad experience with a TV with poor reception on a trip in June, we checked the TV in the first room we were assigned. The remote didn't work. We found the power button on the side, but the remote would not change channels. The desk clerk gave us another remote to no avail.

On to a second room where the remote did turn on the TV, but the set remained on one channel. The desk clerk came up and reset the TV, with no problems thereafter. But more problems than anyone should have with TV at one location.

More tech surprises the next day as the internet was down in the business center, and we could not do an airline check in or print boarding passes.

The staff was courteous and helpful with the TV problem and with local directions. The breakfasts were good - eggs each day, with bacon on the first morning and sausage on the second. No biscuits and gravy, at least on the mornings we were there.

Also I was surprised to see uniformed security patrolling the halls in the evening. Obviously, security is fine when needed. I did not perceive that this was a bad area of Tuscaloosa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lousiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The beds were great! We were traveling and arrived late at night. The breakfast the next day was great and the staff was very friendly and nice. This is a really nice hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We chose this property after our complete dissatisfaction with Sleep Inn on our recent visit visit
to Tuscaloosa for family matters. When we opened our room door, we were overcome with the smell of heavy, stale cigarette smoke, which really shocked us as this property is smoke free. We were immediately given another room by a very apologetic employee. Our room was clean with a nice lay out. However, the electrical outlet by the night stand came out of the wall when we tried to plug something in. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean, but the carpet is worn as is the furniture. The room also needs a full length mirror. One very odd item- the hall in the first floor indicates that the ice machine is at the far end of the hall but it is not. You have to go up to the second floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Desk clerks were nice....But... Room was shabby...carpet worn, walls had chipped paint, chair upholstery dirty/torn. Bedding dirty (incl blanket w/ booger w/ imbedded hair). Mold in bathroom. Traffic noise. Breakfast was horrible (eggs and sausage prepackaged..not fresh, waffle iron did not cook properly. Fitness center minimal and shabby. Etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, MS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

we really enjoyed our stay. my son enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool and the complimentary breakfast was good too. our rooms were very expensive and I guess they are all expensive because it's game day, but when i checked prices for other game weekends on comfort suites website rather than calling, the prices were 1/3 of what i paid. overall, great stay, just hurt the pocket book.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 3916 E McFarland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Tuscaloosa
Comfort Suites Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.