We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff and convenient to everywhere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Hollywood Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Canton, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel, staff and convenient to everywhere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent food, the staff is very helpful. Rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable. I try to book the Hilton whenever I stay in Tuscaloosa.

I left personal belongings in the room and the staff went out of their way to make sure that they were returned to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
 Our associates here at the Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa pride themselves on providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to hear they exceeded your expectations! Your review will certainly be shared with them. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    45
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
75
21
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have lived overseas and travelled extensively with my job. This is the worst hotel concerning cleanliness and the worst hotel concerning front desk people I have experienced in years. Ants basically rule the bathrooms all the way at least as high as the 3rd floor. The front desk people are either incompetent or just don’t care. Concerns expressed to the hotel clean staff generated venting from the employees about the management of the hotel. Several statements describing our concerns to the front desk went unanswered. In the hallways on the various floors are what looks like “after-party” DNA or vomit stains throughout the halls. I am sure they have had some kind of party crowd over the years with the hotel being so close to the university.

The place has a front lobby that shadily looks nice and well designed only to fool you when you get to your room. The hotel reminds me of a Motel 6 being combined with a Panama City, Florida spring break trip.

There is new construction going on to the front lobby and the outside fasade.
Concerns relayed to the Hilton Corporate Customer service went unanswered.

Don’t take your family, don’t risk the experience. You are merely asking for a clean room with some peace and quiet. The management and local ownership do not need to be in the hotel business if they cannot provide the basics of customer care.

Room Tip: Pick a room as high as possible or perhaps in the Marriot Courtyard next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel specifically regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. I am so sorry that you found stains in the hallways and that there were ants in your bathroom. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Your choices for first class accomodations are few and far between in Tuscaloosa, but the Hilton Garden Inn does not disappoint.

Our room was clean, it's about 15 minutes from the University of Alabama campus . . . and sports quite a bit of Bama-related decor. Our room had a refrigerator, and they offer cookies in the afternoon.

There is a full restaurant - with a buffet breakfast that is free if you are a Hilton Diamond member, and $9.99 otherwise, with made to order omelets, pancakes, etc. They serve dinner and have a full bar, but we did not try dinner here.

It's reasonably priced off season . . . but we've made reservations for Parents Weekend to the tune of over $300 a night - it's not worth that, but the hotels have the ability to charge that on Alabama Football weekends, because people will pay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It is good to hear that we here at the Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa "did not disappoint" you.
Thank you so much for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This seems to be a newer hotel as it is in great shape. The rooms are clean. The staff working that I interacted with were very friendly and polite. Even numbered rooms face the highway which is close by.

Room Tip: Get an odd nunbered room to avoid highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
 We always enjoy hearing from our guests here at the Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosae ! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed one night while traveling in Alabama to see college tennis match. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and we got a good night's sleep. No problem with noise from other guests. Everything was great! The only suggestion would be to have better directional signage off the cross roads. Had a bit of a hard time finding it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
“Friendly staff, Clean and Comfortable” is exactly what we want to hear at the Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa . Thank you very much for your business and I do hope that next time you are in town, you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

As a frequent traveller, I was most satisfied with the price, cleanliness of the room and friendliness/professionalism of the staff. I would recommend this hotel without any reservations. Thanks Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa for making our stay with it...I'm definitely a repeat customer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Return guests are very important to us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa and you are very welcome. Our main concern is for all our guests to have a welcoming stay and I am thrilled that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel with college baseball team. The staff was friendly and the food was delicious. Very good breakfast. Nice exercise room and indoor pool. Only complaint, not all rooms ready upon arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
It was nice to read our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa had good food and our staff was friendly. We are also sorry your rooms were not ready for you at check in and will bring this up at our next meeting. Thank you for your nice review and we hope to see your again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa

Address: 800 Hollywood Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#7 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#8 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Hilton Tuscaloosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.