We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too expensive - not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kozy's Restaurant

Kozy's Restaurant
3510 Loop Rd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404-5013
205-556-4112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kozy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 239 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
1 review
“Way too expensive - not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This restaurant is way to expensive. The food is just not worth it. There are many other restaurants with food that is just as good for much lower prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This little spot will surprise you. Cozy dining rooms, formal staff, stiff cocktails, and good wine list. Its great before food even arrives. Food was very good. I've had better, but not in Ttown. Quality ingredients, seasonally sensitive, and pricey, but for what it is...I guess not too bad. Courtyard looked beautiful, but it was raining when we went. We'll go back to dine under the moon next time. Good job guys!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dark and Negative Environment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Kozy's has gone through numerous owners during the course of its existence. So it has a
reputation that isn't entirely merited under its current ownership. The ambience is a very dark
one. One can barely see one's own hand in front of them it is that dark. The prices are exhorbitant, especially since more than once people have commented to me that they've seen the owner shopping at Sam's Club for their Chicken Gordon Bleu and other main staples on their menu. It is also a very small place in a remote part of town. The environment isn't a friendly one
either as the owners are at best aloof. And they are there on a nearly daily basis. The portions
are small which is typical of fine dining, but it seems exaggeratedly so at Kozy's. Quite frankly,
it is beyond me why Kozy's is still open at all.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not your average place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

As a married guy on the road, I get way too much of sports bars and truck stops. Kozy's was a nice change. Kozy’s is a classy, upscale restaurant. Prices are maybe a little high for the area, but if you want a great dinner, superb service and a quiet table for two it is the equal of any place you can find. Entrée is $20 to $34, Large salads $7 to 9, appetizers $6 to 14. Wine by the glass $7 to $14. They have a full bar service.
Near the front is a series of two person booths, rustic farmhouse wood and the walls covered with black and white Hollywood press shots. Light just enough to read a menu or see your food. The bar has several seats with larger tables in the back. I had a glass of wine, Caesar Salad, 16 oz rib eye with a red wine mushroom demi-glace, & fried okra and red potatoes. After that was a large crème brulee, Frangelico and decaf. $65. I did notice that they didn't offer me any bread. Maybe you have to ask? That moved my rating from 5 to 4. Sorry about that. Service otherwise was excellent, they wait on you quickly but don't hover. My steak was big and cooked just right, music was low saxophone jazz. A great place to take a wife or a lover. Very sorry I was alone this trip :-(

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best little food house in T'Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Yes, it's expensive. My husband and I go every year on our anniversary so it's a special treat to ourselves. We never fail to have delicious food and great service. The ambience is romantic - low lights and jazz playing. Good martini and wine list. Love the white chocolate bread pudding dessert.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kozy's Restaurant also viewed

 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 

Been to Kozy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kozy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.