We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, good value with two minor annoyances” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University
1120 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, good value with two minor annoyances”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is easy to get to; the rooms are clean and modern and the free breakfast has lots of variety with high quality.
I had two minor annoyances: the in-room refrigerator would periodically turn on and off at night, waking me up unless I kept the AC fan on for white noise. Also, the bathroom sink drain would not close properly. Nevertheless, I will stay there again (and unplug the refrigerator).

Room Tip: Second floor (room 213) was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I appreciate your letting us know about the issues you experienced making during your stay, and passed your comments to maintenance to correct the problems. I regret that we did not take care of this during your stay. I look forward to hosting you when you are in Tuscaloosa in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
13
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have a child that started at Bama this year and have stayed at several hotels in the area. This hotel is the best we have stayed at. The rooms were clean and did not smell musty; the location is great, only 5 min from the campus; and the free breakfast is very good. The water pressure in the shower is very good, just watch how you close the shower curtain or you'll get water all over the floor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I m so glad that you stayed with us and hope that when you return to Tuscaloosa, we will stay with us again. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Love this hotel. It close to everything in Tuscaloosa especially the campus. Roll Tide. The hotel is always very clean and comfortable. The staff is extra helpful. This is always our first choice when traveling to Tuscaloosa.

Room Tip: Have never stayed in a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are so glad that you have made us the hotel you desire to stay with when you travel to Tuscaloosa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the University of Alabama. We were very pleased to find good shopping and restaurants within a short distance. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and professional. The room was clean and well maintained and the complimentary breakfast buffet had an adequate variety of selections. On the downside, in-room coffee is located in the bathroom, shower pressure was way, way too high, rooms in the front of the hotel should expect a lot of traffic noise, and in-room fridge is very noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Zoey30043,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel. I would also like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the bathroom conditions. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family stayed for one night and enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly, polite and helpful. The locations is safe. The neighborhood includes a mall and many other stores and restaurants. The breakfast area was large and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tuscaloosa. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, staff and locations. Hope you stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haleyville
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was quite impressed. The people were very accommodating. I had 3 rooms there and they were all very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Nice breakfast in the morning. I would definitely staff here again! It's also in a great location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and your nice comments about our property and service at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tuscaloosa. We hope that you will stay with us again, when you travels bring you to Tuscaloosa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family stayed in this hotel while on vacation. It was wonderful. Very nice rooms!! Clean and comfortable. Close to restaurants. I would recommend it and will definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel while on vacation. It was wonderful. Very nice room!! I would recommend it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while on vacation in Tuscaloosa. We have pasted on your wonderful comments to our housekeeping staff. We hope the time time your travels bring you back to Tuscloosa, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University

Address: 1120 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tuscaloosa-University is a 4 story hotel offering 109 rooms with 20 suites, which are beautifully appointed to provide you with a comfortable relaxing stay away from home. Every room has interior access and is equipped with its own micro fridge, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk and data port with high-speed Internet access, and voice mail. For your convenience, wireless Internet access is provided in all guest rooms and public areas. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is provided daily with extended hours on the weekends. An on site fitness room and out-door pool are provided for your convenience. A valet laundry and dry cleaning service is provided weekdays. From Interstate 59/ 20, take exit 73, which is McFarland Blvd. And Hwy. 82. Turn West at the light at the end of the ramp. Go 2 miles and at the intersection with 15th Street turn right on Veteran s Memorial Parkway/15th Street East. The hotel is across from University Mall. From Hwy. 82, West bound, once you pass I 59/ 20, go 2 miles and at the intersection with 15th Street turn right on Veteran s Memorial Parkway/15th Street East. The hotel is across from University Mall on the left. From Hwy. 82, East bound, go 0.5 Miles past University Blvd. Exit, turn left at light on 15th St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Holiday Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.