We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Tuscaloosa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University
1120 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Tuscaloosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family stayed for one night and enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly, polite and helpful. The locations is safe. The neighborhood includes a mall and many other stores and restaurants. The breakfast area was large and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tuscaloosa. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, staff and locations. Hope you stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
13
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
haleyville
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was quite impressed. The people were very accommodating. I had 3 rooms there and they were all very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Nice breakfast in the morning. I would definitely staff here again! It's also in a great location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and your nice comments about our property and service at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tuscaloosa. We hope that you will stay with us again, when you travels bring you to Tuscaloosa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family stayed in this hotel while on vacation. It was wonderful. Very nice rooms!! Clean and comfortable. Close to restaurants. I would recommend it and will definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel while on vacation. It was wonderful. Very nice room!! I would recommend it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while on vacation in Tuscaloosa. We have pasted on your wonderful comments to our housekeeping staff. We hope the time time your travels bring you back to Tuscloosa, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here during a camp at university of Alabama for my daughter. Hotel was nice and clean and breakfast was decent. Outdoor pool was nice. Was located right across the street from a mall. And near lots of restaurants. The only issue I had was with the front desk charging the wrong credit card for my stay. That was a little issue but nothing that I could do after I was checked out and gone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our location, and ammonites. We apologize for the credit card issue. If you would give us a call we would be more than happy to correct it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Traveled to Tuscaloosa for orientation at the University. Super location, great staff, friendly, Front Desk staff that was eager to provide much needed information to our daughter who will be attending Alabama this fall. I look forward to staying here for the next 4 years when we come to town.

Room Tip: The hotel must be solid concrete, we did not hear any noise above us or from the rooms beside us. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am so glad we were you hotel of choice when you came to the U of A with your daughter! I hope that we can be as helpful every time you visit and look forward to your returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express at Tuscaloosa is a very nice property. We found the staff to be very friendly and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was great with many choices. The fitness room could use some upgrades, but other than that we would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for all your comments about our hotel. I have made a note of your suggestion about our fitness equipment and shared your comments with all of the staff. I hope that in the future, we will be staying with us when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was down in Tuscaloosa on business and booked this property based on the positive Traveladvisor reviews.
First off, let me correct one critical point that others have written...
This hotel is NOT adjacent or within walking distance to anything on the UA campus so dont let the "University" in its name make you think that it is on or even adjacent to the UA campus.
It sits back by itself on Veterans but is within.5 to 1 mile walking distance of numerous retail and restaurant choices at the Mid Town and University Mall shopping districts. Be warned though that if you are walking you must cross two major traffic intersections to get to these areas. Not fun at night!
The property itself is a standard, run of the mill, HIE and that is not a bad thing.
The rooms are nicely decorated and the service is friendly as you would expect at any ICG property. I am a Platinum Priority Club member and was recongized as such upon checkin.
I wish that it would have been at least within walking distance to campus but I did not see any other major hotel chains adjacent either so this is a solid choice if you are in town for a game or on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and your nice comments about our property and service at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tuscaloosa. We are always happy to recognize our Platinum Priority Club members.
You are correct that we are not located on The University of Alabama campus. The hotel is just over a mile from campus. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and hope that we will be your hotel choice when traveling to Tuscaloosa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University

Address: 1120 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#10 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tuscaloosa-University is a 4 story hotel offering 109 rooms with 20 suites, which are beautifully appointed to provide you with a comfortable relaxing stay away from home. Every room has interior access and is equipped with its own micro fridge, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk and data port with high-speed Internet access, and voice mail. For your convenience, wireless Internet access is provided in all guest rooms and public areas. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is provided daily with extended hours on the weekends. An on site fitness room and out-door pool are provided for your convenience. A valet laundry and dry cleaning service is provided weekdays. From Interstate 59/ 20, take exit 73, which is McFarland Blvd. And Hwy. 82. Turn West at the light at the end of the ramp. Go 2 miles and at the intersection with 15th Street turn right on Veteran s Memorial Parkway/15th Street East. The hotel is across from University Mall. From Hwy. 82, West bound, once you pass I 59/ 20, go 2 miles and at the intersection with 15th Street turn right on Veteran s Memorial Parkway/15th Street East. The hotel is across from University Mall on the left. From Hwy. 82, East bound, go 0.5 Miles past University Blvd. Exit, turn left at light on 15th St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Holiday Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.