We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University
1120 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
atlanta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Superior Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here two nights during a football weekend. Excellent service with several extras. Breakfast is very good, same as most nice HIEX. Two trend ants always willing to assist. Very clean and well organized. Friday afternoons they have a happy hour that is free, wine, beer, snacks and wonderful desserts. Very nice and plenty of food. Very convenient location for anything in Tuscaloosa. Definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    29
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
13
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very friendly, clean hotel. Excellent happy hour on friday night. Great breakfast. love the sticky buns. The people were all very nice. Clean and comfy pillows. the Exercise room is good and I felt safe walking to my car at night. Very convienent to the mall and shopping areas, of course close to the university. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I travel a lot for work and find there are a few things that I regard as important. 1) Friendliness of staff, 2) cleanliness of the facility, 3) safety and 4) Parking. This was the first time I have stayed at this hotel. The staff was super friendly. I felt safe and there was plenty of parking. I did try the complementary breakfast buffet and it was ok. I did not use any of the amenities such the exercise room, pool or sauna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My family and I stopped here on our way home from Gatlinburg. We loved the rooms, breakfast & staff! This hotel is clean and toddler friendly! Ms. Dot is a doll and helped so much with our babies during breakfast. When we are in the area again we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has hosted us for seven years in a row as we enjoy a weekend of Alabama's legendary hospitality during SEC College Football season. Front desk staff are efficient, knowledgable college students who can recommend great restaurant hotspots. The complimentary breakfast spread features a diverse array of fresh food, with both hot & cold choices, including made-to-order egg & sausage dishes, fresh fruit & pastries. The dairy offerings are comprehensive, too, and include several yogurt flavors. Choose from cold juice beverages or an array of a dozen (or more) hot tea & coffee offerings, complete with travel cups for a bite on the go. Breakfast staff are sunny, accommodating & sincerely engaged with guests, and the ambiance in the "great room" dining area feels cozy, even though the space is large. I always have the feeling I'm visiting family in their oversized family room, complete with cable TV, comfy sofa & plush armchairs. Several complimentary daily newspapers are always available in the great room, or you may elect to have papers delivered to your room. Housekeeping staff are motivated, accommodating and cheerful, and are never insistent or intrusive if you're running a little late in the morning. Each night, upon returning to the room, we found every amenity, from towels to toiletries, replenished fully. One artful lady even used a few extra towels to make us a little elephant figurine, and perched the welcoming little "towel critter" on our bed (sort of like the "towel origami" one experiences on a cruise). The elephant is the official mascot of the University of Alabama, located at the center of Tuscaloosa, so it's nice to see such "hometown pride" and extra effort from the staff at this sweet little hotel. Rooms are basic but very clean & comfortable, with both double-queen & king beds available. A work desk and chair are also provided, with both Ethernet & free Wi-Fi offerings if you have to stay plugged-in to your gadgets. There's also a comfy club chair & ottoman on offer, as well as a dorm-sized microwave & refrigerator, a flat screen tv, and ample dresser drawer space. The hotel also features several suites, but never having stayed in a suite in this hotel, I can't comment.

Other amenities on site include a small outdoor swimming pool (alas, there's no jacuzzi), and a small but modern fitness room. Pets are not allowed at this hotel, but I travel with my service dog & we have been made to feel very welcome with her. We simply make certain we let the staff see her and her service dog vest upon check-in, and we let them photocopy her service dog ID card for their file.

The hotel is located on the corner of two major thoroughfares in town, 15th St & McFarland Ave., with several upscale shopping centers & restaurants located directly across the street from the hotel. Despite the proximity to such bustling retail locations, we never hear traffic noise inside the hotel.

Book a stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Tuscaloosa, especially if you're in town during college football season. You'll enjoy lots of Southern hospitality, hometown pride & attentive comfort, all at a great price. Just don't be surprised if the hotel & the town of Tuscaloosa have you already anticipating your next visit as you check out. We'll be back, year after year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great location with the exception of road noise. Clean place with good service. I would suggest getting a room on the back side of the building. The traffic is mild at night time, but it was an unappreciated wake up call at 6:00 am.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Feel free to request rooms away from the road at any time. If they are available, we will be happy to put you in a room that you feel would be quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express was very nice, clean and seemed quite new. Beds were very comfortable. The hotel is not walk able to campus but is in a great location for shopping and dining. Breakfast was fair, the standard options of pre made egged. Pancake grill was broken. I would have liked to see oatmeal freshly made, not packets. That is minor. Overall I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University

Address: 1120 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#11 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tuscaloosa-University is a 4 story hotel offering 109 rooms with 20 suites, which are beautifully appointed to provide you with a comfortable relaxing stay away from home. Every room has interior access and is equipped with its own micro fridge, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk and data port with high-speed Internet access, and voice mail. For your convenience, wireless Internet access is provided in all guest rooms and public areas. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is provided daily with extended hours on the weekends. An on site fitness room and out-door pool are provided for your convenience. A valet laundry and dry cleaning service is provided weekdays. From Interstate 59/ 20, take exit 73, which is McFarland Blvd. And Hwy. 82. Turn West at the light at the end of the ramp. Go 2 miles and at the intersection with 15th Street turn right on Veteran s Memorial Parkway/15th Street East. The hotel is across from University Mall. From Hwy. 82, West bound, once you pass I 59/ 20, go 2 miles and at the intersection with 15th Street turn right on Veteran s Memorial Parkway/15th Street East. The hotel is across from University Mall on the left. From Hwy. 82, East bound, go 0.5 Miles past University Blvd. Exit, turn left at light on 15th St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Holiday Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.