We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University
1120 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Road Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great location with the exception of road noise. Clean place with good service. I would suggest getting a room on the back side of the building. The traffic is mild at night time, but it was an unappreciated wake up call at 6:00 am.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Feel free to request rooms away from the road at any time. If they are available, we will be happy to put you in a room that you feel would be quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
13
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express was very nice, clean and seemed quite new. Beds were very comfortable. The hotel is not walk able to campus but is in a great location for shopping and dining. Breakfast was fair, the standard options of pre made egged. Pancake grill was broken. I would have liked to see oatmeal freshly made, not packets. That is minor. Overall I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Over the last three years, one of favorite places to stay in Tuscaloosa, while visiting our undergraduate daughter. Great location off the highway and close to Target, JCP and mall.

Rooms are consistently clean and quiet, above average HI Express-style breakfast buffet, good parking lot is ample, staff is cheerful. Adequate WLAN access and bandwidth, but not blazing fast.

The breakfast room is open during the day for studying, cup of coffee or tea, and watching large screen tv. The staff let us use it for a noon time graduation lunch that we created from quick stop at grocery store, after the commencement ceremony.

All, in all, this makes for a nice, comfortable, family hotel when staying in the Tuscaloosa area.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor with back room not facing street. There are king and queen suites that Priority Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontotoc, Mississippi
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Was here this past weekend with the Ole Miss Rebel Cheerleaders and Dance team. The Hotel is right in every area. Parking is very good. Front desk personnel are friendly and accomadating. Rooms were well maintained and very clean. Obvious that detail is given to cleaning. Decor of rooms is very nice. And of course the shower is great. Breakfast was hot, tasty and plentiful. Environmental Staff was very friendly. I had a nice conversation with a couple of the ladies and they took pride in their work. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our room was large and clean. All the amenities were great. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast included lots of choices to be free. Also I loved the cookies and coffee in the afternoon. I wished the coffee had been offered all night. Roll Tide at the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: We had a suite and the extra space was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here with my two daughters for 2 nights. I am an Alabama alumni and we stayed here while taking a tour of the campus with my daughter. We stayed in a suite which had a sofa bed. The room was plenty big for the 3 of us. The bathroom is clean and has room to organize your make-up and belongings. But, best of all, the staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. The girls at the front, Raven and Shae, were extremely helpful in making recommendations on restaurants and places to visit on campus. They deserve a raise! If you are trying to decide on a hotel in Tuscaloosa, choose this one. It is centrally located and above average for Tuscaloosa hotels.

Room Tip: If you need a little extra room, choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sk712
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our son got married in Tuscaloosa recently, and our family stayed at this hotel. It was a wonderful experience. First, before we even got there, I called several times to reserve rooms, or confirm our numbers. The folks on the phone were always patient with me, as I counted, and recounted to make sure our room count was right. Check in was smooth on the first day, and again, in person, the front desk folks were very accommodating. Whenever I had a question, or need, they were quick to help. The breakfast bar was excellent. The woman who was manning it the days we were there was super friendly, and seemed to really care about the people she served- asking about the wedding, etc. The lobby became a very comfortable gathering place for family and friends, offering us a chance to visit in a quiet, cozy spot. The pool area was very nice, with lots of space. Finally, the location is super convenient to the University, to shopping, and dining. I could not have asked for a better location. Thanks to the folks at the HIE! You are great. Next time I visit my son and his new wife, I will be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizobradovich, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University

Address: 1120 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tuscaloosa-University is a 4 story hotel offering 109 rooms with 20 suites, which are beautifully appointed to provide you with a comfortable relaxing stay away from home. Every room has interior access and is equipped with its own micro fridge, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk and data port with high-speed Internet access, and voice mail. For your convenience, wireless Internet access is provided in all guest rooms and public areas. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is provided daily with extended hours on the weekends. An on site fitness room and out-door pool are provided for your convenience. A valet laundry and dry cleaning service is provided weekdays. From Interstate 59/ 20, take exit 73, which is McFarland Blvd. And Hwy. 82. Turn West at the light at the end of the ramp. Go 2 miles and at the intersection with 15th Street turn right on Veteran s Memorial Parkway/15th Street East. The hotel is across from University Mall. From Hwy. 82, West bound, once you pass I 59/ 20, go 2 miles and at the intersection with 15th Street turn right on Veteran s Memorial Parkway/15th Street East. The hotel is across from University Mall on the left. From Hwy. 82, East bound, go 0.5 Miles past University Blvd. Exit, turn left at light on 15th St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Holiday Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.