We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small dump (ok, eclectic) in old house. Good breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waysider

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Waysider
1512 Greensboro Ave, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401-4509
205-345-8239
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 239 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Small dump (ok, eclectic) in old house. Good breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

About a dozen tables in and old house with plenty of Alabama sports memorabilia, that only serves breakfast and lunch. Long waits on weekends. Great pancakes, biscuits, country ham and fresh hot coffee, all at very reasonable prices. Difficult to find the entrance to the on site rear parking. A Tuscaloosa tradition that is dependable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food but LONG wait and Rude waitress”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The food here is quite good. Too bad they told us we would wait no longer than 25 minutes which was actually 11/2 hours. Then when we sat down we wanted to order right away which clearly did not please our waitress. We waited for food for a long time. Next time I am going to Another Broken Egg. Not worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friendly people and a good old southern breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We took the local recommendations and headed over to this Tuscaloosa favorite. The parking was confusing but we figured it out. Don't let the curb appeal fool you. Yes its old but the grits and biscuits inside are delicious. its quick and good. everything is home made. Definitely try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Classic Breakfast place with great biscuits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was in Tuscaloosa and stopped in for Breakfast. I had overeasy eggs and pork tenderloin. the tenderloin needed some seasoning or salt but the Biscuits are some of the best around! they are small and homemade. It is your classic breakfast place in T-Town. Bear Bryant frequented it and you can see why

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I've loved this place for 25 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

When I was a student at UA, we'd eat at the Waysider on special occasions. I was back there visiting recently and met some friends there, and it was just as good as I remembered. The biscuits are to die for. They're perfect and not too big. It's always busy but once you have a table, it's yours and no one is going to hurry you along. If you're looking for a good old fashioned breakfast, this is where you need to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waysider also viewed

 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 

Been to Waysider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waysider, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.