We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must to take your children/grandchildren” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Hands-On Museum

Children's Hands-On Museum
2213 University Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
205-349-4235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Tuscaloosa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hands-on exhibits for children.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must to take your children/grandchildren”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It's an absolute must for children, toddlers to middle school, even high school. Many participatory experiences relating to history, culture, traditions, etc.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russellville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Occupied my 1 & 3 year Oldsmobile while being budget friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the museum itself! We had a great time and it kept my children occupied and was age appropriate for them. However, the staff weren't very friendly or helpful. The programs that were offered were geared more to people who had "memberships". Besides that it was a good experience. We would visit it again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tuscaloosa Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This children's museum was a sweet surprise that we found while my husband was working nearby. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist that gave us an overview of the museum, and we were more than impressed.
The miniature versions of real-life businesses like an ice cream shop, drug store, bank, post office and more were fascinating to my child. We spent the most time at the ice cream parlor which was complete with authentic order-taking notepad w/pencil to all colors of the rainbow pretend ice cream scoops. Banana split anyone?
The space exhibit was incredible also along with the planetarium show made for a memorable afternoon. Downstairs we spent lots of time in the make-believe hospital complete with real stethascopes and x-ray viewer. But my most favorite exhibit was the tug boat with the authentic sound effects and controls.
With what I though would only be about an hour's worth of fun turned into an entire afternoon of fun for both me and my son.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun for Kids and Adults too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is so much fun! Our daughters love coming here! With all the little play areas that are made to replicate real-life, they can play hospital, farmer's market, sea captain, fisherman, southern belles, barber, soda hop, teacher, etc. Even my husband and I find ourselves really getting involved and letting our "inner child" out to play too! This place is a must see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulligent, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hands On”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hands on Museum is a great day of fun for the whole family,group discounts for schools.Children are allowed to change into costumes and pretend to be someone famous.It is educational but no one realizes that that are learning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Hands-On Museum also viewed

 

Been to Children's Hands-On Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Hands-On Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.