We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating...very clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centerstone Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centerstone Inn to your Saves list
Centerstone Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 Doris Pate Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Hamilton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs updating...very clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a working man's hotel. What I mean by that is that there are work trucks in the parking lot every evening and men on the porch area and lobby area each evening. While outside, the men do smoke and they may drink a beer or two. They've worked a long day and need to relax. The men were friendly and polite each evening when my party returned from our work at the University of Alabama.

The rooms are in moderate disrepair. Woodwork around doors needs to be replaced, tile needs to be regroute, wallpaper is peeling at the seams. The rooms are NOT dirty. They are clean...they appear dirty because the room needs updating.

The breakfast was well-stocked and the coffee was great. The price on this hotel was phenomenal. The bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and courteous.

I would recommend this hotel and hope the staff has the money in their budget to update a bit to give the place a cleaner image...it would certainly help everyone realize the place is clean.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
12
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vinton, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night here, and was very pleased. The room was roomy, clean and the beds were very comfortable.
The staff was very friendly and professional. A very good breakfast was provided.the rates were very reasonable.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Most of the below feedback is documented in the images i've submitted which are geo tagged. The only positive comments I have are that the room was neat (not clean) and the breakfast and bed was very good. Now for a lot of negative. Getting out of the car we were greeted by a group of 5-6 men standing at the front entrance of the hotel drinking beer. Not a good start. Walking down the hall to the room there was a heavy smell of smoke and upon entering our room there was a horrible smell of citrus deodorizer that had obviously been used to cover up a smoking room. If you look closely at the nonsmoking signs under the room numbers you can tell that they've been removed and added based on what has been booked. If you book nonsmoking you may get a smoking that's been "converted". You could also see evidence of this on the inside of the door where things had been removed there was white paint, the rest was yellow with cigarette tar. The smell was more terrible then cigarette smoke would have been and overwhelming. The carpet was filthy, it had been vacuumed but needed washing. We were woken up in the middle of the night twice, once by a man yelling down the hall and the other a door slamming. In the morning on my way to breakfast I observed a beer bottle in the hall outside of a room door and cigarette butts and ashes in the stairwell. The staff was not friendly and defended the drinkers. There appears to be a rough group of people occupying the hotel long term. We did not feel completely safe. Definitely not an award winning hotel! Home Towne Studios Tuscaloosa was much nicer and better located for a bit less money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many years while traveling from Louisiana to Tennessee. The hotel name has changed quite a few times but the hotel itself has been well maintained and was very clean. Staff all helpful and the breakfast was good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We only stayed one night here and it was a nice room. Roomy and comfortable. The hotel does need some updating, but, it was clean. I wasn't impressed with the desk staff, they just weren't very friendly, not rude, just not many people skills. Housekeeping and the young man in charge of the breakfast area were really nice and helpful. I was slightly annoyed at the fact that I had to pay to rent a safe in our room and then found out that the key for the safe was already available in our room?? The pool area could use an umbrella. We were really impressed with the breakfast!! We enjoyed the Cracker Barrel right next door...a huge plus to this quick trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The check in desk prominently displays a Tripadvisor "best of" award on their counter. Bearing that in mind, we were not thrilled with the level of accommodations and service received. We stayed just for one night. Found a "personal" hair prominently displayed in the middle of the bathtub which was disconcerting at best. For a 4-person stay, there were only 3 bathtowels and wash cloths in the room. When we wanted to use the pool, we were told to ask the front desk for the special 'pool towels' which were very small and thin. When we needed another pool towel, we were informed they were out and at first the desk staff did not want to give us anymore. They had to call their SUPERVISOR and get permission, because "the room towels are new and we don't want them messed up." The desk staff then said that towel would be put on our room so make sure it was there when we left ... ??? Almost seemed like they thought we would steal the towel. The desk staff were not rude, but certainly were not over-accommodating or even very friendly. The breakfast was ok the next morning, but they didn't seem prepared for the amount of visitors they had, so had run out of some things like eggs and waffle mix by the time we got down to eat. Not the best stay I have ever had, and not the worst.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodore, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff was excellent from check-in to check-out. Housekeeping spoke English and SUPER friendly! Complimentary Breakfast was more than cold cereal and toast/bagels. We were in Tuscaloosa for a travel ball tournament at SoKol Park just past the University of Alabama. Not a bad commute to either location. Craker Barrel is right next door with easy walking accomodations. Roomsize is not real compact. Rooms have refridgerator and microwave. Cost is very good for hotel. I have stayed in many places for more money and been very disappointed! Definitely will be hotel of choice upon return to Tuscaloosa.

Room Tip: We were on front side near interstate and no road noise. So, i feel any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centerstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Inn

Address: 4700 Doris Pate Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centerstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centerstone Inn & Suites is located less than 15 minutes away from The University of Alabama, and next door to Cracker Barrel restaurant off of exit 76 in Tuscaloosa. We do have a free full HOT breakfast in the mornings, on-site staff 24 hours a day throughout the year, interior room hotel, recently renovated, flat panel TVs, micro/fridge, hairdryer, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Also, the hotel does offer extended stay options for those that are staying in the Tuscaloosa area for longer periods of time. Our target markets consist of are families, business travelers, leisure, and visitors to the Tuscaloosa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centerstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerstone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.