We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for an older facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5021 Oscar Baxter Road, Tuscaloosa, AL 35403 (Formerly Jameson Inn Tuscaloosa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    32
    36
    23
See reviews for
72
17
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The room was nasty and old. The carpet was very sticky and there was blood on the comforter. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no water. We waited until 10:00 that night before there was any water to take a shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosaal, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mickey H from Hartselle,

We sincerely apologize for your recent stay at this hotel location. This is not a standard for this hotel nor for Baymont.

We also apologize for the water issue. A check valve in a water line dislodged and all but ceased the flow of hot water. A local, reliable plumbing company was called out and was able to repair the issue. With the age of the hotel, miscellaneous maintenance mishaps will occur.

Please keep in mind that we are in the midst of repainting and installing new carpet in all 62 rooms.

We invite you to visit us again once our changes have been implemented.

Thanks,
Baymont Inn of Tuscaloosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I wish I had written down the Front Desk Represenative who waited on me. I am in the hospitality industry (casino-hotels) and she examplifies the qualities we look for in our employees. Very up beat and positive attitude, warm and infectious smile, and truly seemed to enjoy her job. My highest compliments to her and her job skills. AWESOME!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosaal, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear William C,

Thank you for your kind words. The staff here truly works hard and it is always a welcomed change when their actions are acknowledged.

We certainly appreciate that you took time out of your busy schedule to compliment one of our own!

Please visit us again soon!

Baymont Inn of Tuscaloosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was the most disgusting place I've ever WALKED into! I quickly made my kids get out and sit on the concrete walkway outside...not even allowing them to sit on the floor of that disgusting place much less the bed or chair! We felt dirty just walking in! Where do I begin? Railroad tracks like just feet away from the building (rooms). The pool...looked like the one off of National Lampoons Vacation (cabin one). The picture of the pool is taken from an angle purposely keeping out the seating area...for a reason. The toilet in our room...almost made me vomit. You barely had to tilt your head before you saw all of the black and brown...whatever...left all over it. The bathroom stunk like BO!! Clearly...smokers in the room...for days it seemed. Half eaten pizza left in the microwave. Used chapstick without the cover sitting on the AC unit. Etc... GROSS!!!!! I don't even want to THINK about what the bed were like! If they can't even clean the obvious...they clearly won't clean what we can't see like the comforters and such! My mother checked in to the room next door...SAME ISSUES!!!!! Not a coincidence...or overlook...when there are MULTIPLE rooms like this! I'm considering contacting the health department on this place. We left immediately. ONLY good thing about this place...was the nice woman who worked at the desk that didn't charge us for the rooms and allowed us to leave. We normally don't just stop at any hotel/motel...but we had been on the road and were ready to stop. Across the street were wonderful and CLEAN hotels!!!!

Room Tip: Seriously? There are no good rooms at this place and those pictures are NOT FOR REAL!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosaal, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear cllakegrl,

We gratefully apologize for your recent experience at the Baymont Inn of Tuscaloosa. This is NOT a standard by any means whatsoever. The housekeeping team here will be counselled on their lack of execution. There have been many special events in this area recently and with 40+ rooms checking out and 40+ rooms checking in, many guests requesting to check in before the standard check in time of 3pm, makes it difficult for the staff to inspect the rooms. I realize this is no excuse but this will be dealt with accordingly.

We are in the midst of painting the outside of both buildings and soon we will be installing new carpet in all 62 guest rooms.

We would like to invite you back once these changes have been implemented.

Again, please forgive the lack of initiative on the housekeeping aspects of the rooms.

Baymont Inn of Tuscaloosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The room was large and comfortable. It had a good mini refrigerator and microwave. The desk was a nice size. The desk chair was ergonomic. I was pleasantly surprised to see an ergonomic chair. The room had a very large flat screen TV. The shower had good pressure. The AC also worked real well.

Univ. of Alabama, Wendy's, Lowe's, Hooters, movies, Chick Filet, Waffle House, and Academy are all nearby.

Bad things:
The lamps were not sufficient to light the room. Thus, you had to open your curtains for more light. The room also had a fair amount of dead and living bugs. It looks like the bug control they use is semi working. However, when housekeeping cleans your room and leaves the door open while doing it, the bugs just flies on in. It is the south. You can't keep the doors open and not expect insects to fly in. It is disturbing. Finally, I stayed for 4 nights. I had called a wake up call for 3 nights. I never did get a call. So you your mobile device's alarm.

The complimentary breakfast was average. However, there is very limited seating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosaal, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Hoss013,

Thank you for complimenting our little hotel in Tuscaloosa, AL. We appreciate your points of interests. We will also contact our pest control company, Knox, and forward your concerns about the pest issues. We will also use this as a training tool for our housekeepers.

Thanks again and have a wonderful day.

Baymont Inn of Tuscaloosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We checked in and out in less than 20 minutes. First thing we noticed was that our room backed up to the railroad tracks. Literally less than 6 feet. There was old pizza in the microwave and a very dirty bathroom. The rooms were dirty and smelled. Don't even stop.

Room Tip: Try another hotel in Tuscaloosa. We moved to the Fairmont Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosaal, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Masvacation,

We do apologize that the housekeeping staff overlooked the pizza in the microwave. We will use this as a training tool for the future. Again, we apologize for the railroad tracks being so close. The tracks were there when the building was built about 10 years ago. We are so happy that the Fairfield Inn across the street was able to accommodate you.

We are currently in the midst of painting the outside of both of our buildings and once that is complete, we will be installing new carpet in all 62 rooms.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Baymont Inn of Tuscaloosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 5021 Oscar Baxter Road, Tuscaloosa, AL 35403 (Formerly Jameson Inn Tuscaloosa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Jameson Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.