We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, 15th Street East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel offers multiple kinds of rooms, from tiny studios to 2-bedroom suites, all with a minimal but workable kitchen, and all with good wireless internet. We just stayed there again for a week, probably the 6th or 7th time for us, and we were once again impressed with: how courteous and helpful (and positive) the staff were; the convenience of the room set-up; and the amazingly low daily rate for what you get. A great overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    14
    13
    30
See reviews for
44
11
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our family spent a week at this property in Tuscaloosa last week and we had a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly and welcoming and went above and beyond to make our stay feel like we were at home. The room was spacious and clean. We will definitely be staying at this location again!

Room Tip: If you have more than two guests traveling in your group make sure you check out the suites. Very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for approximately two months during a relocation to Tuscaloosa and this is my review: I had stayed at several other hotels in the area before my actual relocation, but settled on Home-Towne Suites for the long term stay based on price. I will say that, regardless of price, it is equivalent to any of the other hotels I stayed at here in town in terms of quality of facilities and staff. The staff is friendly, and have always dropped what they were doing when I needed something and were always able to get me what I needed as soon as I asked. The room is clean, and the furnishings are nice - nothings seems worn out or abused here. They have on-site laundry, which is nice, and the room I have has a small kitchen (which is good on a long term stay - most of the appliances appeared to be new). During the week, most of the guests appear to be tradesman working on projects in the area, they normally get to their rooms around 5:30-6pm, are rowdy for 15min and then silence. On the weekends, its mostly families that are passing through, or folks visiting their kids at the university. On occasion, sports teams from other schools come for competitions on the weekends - they are normally up way before I am, and so tired when they come back that they just go straight to their rooms not to be heard or seen again. I can only think of one time in the last two months when some one was loud and that was at about 8pm on a weekend after an event for the university, and that lasted about 5min (staff quickly told them to settle down - that is quicker than I have seen at other hotels). Overall, this place is clean with good facilities and as good as any other hotel I have stayed at - plus its inexpensive to stay here - makes it an easy win. You can learn a lot about a place in a long term visit, and if I had to stay in a hotel for another two months (or recommend something for an overnight stay), it would be here.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor, seemed fine to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Room was fine, office staff friendly, but the housekeeping is terrible. 1st day they came in and didn't empty the garbage cans although they were overflowing and we kept them out in plain sight. The 2nd day they came in and left the beds unmade, they did empty the trash but left the cans out with the plastic bags on the counter.

Room Tip: If they fix their housekeeping, it would be a nice hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We did NOT realize the difference between the "studio" rooms and the "suites". The studio rooms are the front building and they were nothing short of scary. People smoking in the hallways and loitering all around. We made our way to the room which had nasty stained hallways. The room, though non smoking, smelled like cigarette smoke -- in fact the entire hotel smelled like smoke. After speaking with the office staff, who were indeed friendly, we found out that the back building are the suites -- and when shown a room, they were clean, nice and no smoke smell anywhere in the building. Unfortunately there were no more rooms available in the "suites" section -- only the "studio" section.

Room Tip: Do NOT book in the front building which are the studios -- you need to be in the back building which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our experience here was fantastic. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and the check-in/check-out procedure was quick. The location is fantastic for Tuscaloosa-- near shopping, dining and gas stations. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel-- if we return to the area, we'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Booked reservation with follow-on couple coming a few days later. First experience the TV did not work and it took two employees to fix it. The next day we got no maid service whatsoever. We had to take the towels to registration to trade them out. Second day no maid service either and when we checked on the reservation for the follow-on couple, they said they were overbooked and our friends would have to stay elsewhere. Extreme smell of disinfectant in the hallways which was actually better than the smell of the room. We bought a candle to burn while there. We also experienced a roach in the bathtub and a spider in the bathroom. Would not recommend this place to anyone. They were terribly understaffed especially since they claimed they were overbooked. The only good thing I can say is the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 1650 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, 15th Street East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuscaloosa is located in Alabama’s center of center of industry, commerce, healthcare, and education. Home-Towne Suites of Tuscaloosa offers affordable extended stay lodging accommodations for business and family travelers. Home-Towne Suites of Tuscaloosa features spacious suites comfortably furnished and equipped with full kitchens and living areas. The hotel boasts a friendly staff and excellent customer service as well as easy access to Conveniently located minutes from University of Alabama's campus, within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. For added convenience, the hotel provides free parking, Wi-Fi and premium cable TV. Guests also enjoy 24-hour access to the onsite laundry facility and vending area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.