We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoked wings...to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pigg Shack - CLOSED

Pigg Shack
900 HILLCREST SCHOOL RD, Tuscaloosa, AL
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Old style low and slow southern BBQ, take out only. Pulled pork, pork ribs, brisket. Excellent sides including mac and cheese and banana pudding.
Restaurant details
Description: Old style low and slow southern BBQ, take out only. Pulled pork, pork ribs, brisket. Excellent sides including mac and cheese and banana pudding.
1 review
“Smoked wings...to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are in the market for BBQ...this is where to go in T-Town. Smoked wings are awesome. Brisket is fantastic. It's a little pricey but worth it. Not much to look at...it really is a shack.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have been back in Taylorville for a few months now. This is the ONLY place around I will patronize if it is open. Nothing else compares.

Pork is some of the best I have ever had, consistently too. Sauce is awesome. Potato salad is wickedly good.

Do yourself a favor and pick up a pound of pork and pint of potato salad some day. You will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Smoky Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The place was extremely busy on memorial day, but it was worth the wait. Ribs, pulled port, baked beans, and potato salad. The potato salad was a pleasant surprise. Loaded with sour cream...a special treat. Ribs we heavy and great. I'm a big smoked meat fan and usually have to smoke it myself to get it the way I like it. Not any more since I found this place. The prices are not cheap, but it is worth the price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Potato Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a great BBQ place. And, the potato salad is truly some of the best i have ever had. If you like smoked wings is this your place.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Found this restaurant through TA and was pleased. All outdoor seating for take away or dine-in, the Pigg Shack was a great way to grab lunch near the Shelton State campus. Good prices. Simple, but pleasant. Colleague had pulled pork, potato salad, broccoli salad and I had small ribs portion, potato salad, and cole slaw. Pulled pork was great, but the ribs were a little dry. We were there early, so they may have been yesterday's. Sauce was tangy, but not over powering. Dang it, if you get any sides, get two of the potato salad. Creamy, but not a mayonaise overload. Buttery, but not too rich. Seasoned just right. I would go back just for that. Service is minimalist, but not much is required and the pricing vs. portions are good. I'll go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigg Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigg Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.