We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oysters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar

Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar
2330 4th Street, Temerson Square, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
205.462.3399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 245 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: A warm welcome to all from Bob and Patty Hallmark and the staff at the Tin Top Restaurant and Oyster Bar, Bon Secour, AL. You're gonna see a lot of changes online over the coming weeks but all this is to improve how we can connect with you, our loyal customers. Without whom, we would never be able to share our fantastic recipes, consistently voted by you as the best seafood and best steak in the county!
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My table of 4 had; Broiled Tin Top Platter (the shrimp was the best thing on it, the crab cake was pretty terrible, Tuna Dip (unique flavor, must try), Strip (med rare, cooked correctly), Peel and Eat Shrimp (some of the best I've ever had), Raw Oysters (exactly what you'd expect from never frozen), Tin Top Oysters (Superb! the ham that is special to that area adds a spicy kick to them), and by far the best thing on the table were the shrimp grits!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pre-battered okra . . . really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The fried oysters were good but it's quite bewildering why a well-touted restaurant would buy pre-battered frozen okra and, to our utter dismay, put sugar in collard greens. Have we reached a new low with our sugar addiction? The Bloody Mary and side salad (though they should spare the grated cheese on top of the iceberg lettuce) were the best parts. The fried fish was mushy. Raw oysters would probably have been the best option. That said, the service was friendly and helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tin Top was far from Tip Top!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Total lackluster meal at the 'ole Tin Top. Had reservations for 7:45 pm. Hostess clearly forgot to seat us, so i gave her a gentle reminder. No problem! But things never improved after that. Ordered two fillets which were fine but overpriced for my discriminating pallet. I rarely order a steak, and when I do, I expect it to be mouthwatering. The broccoli tasted like it was steamed in seafood. It was yucky and super salty. Other sides were on par and included salad and baked potato. Our waiter never refilled my water once so I had to drink from my daughter's water. We reminded him a couple of times to refill our water to no avail! Overall, if just wasn't worth the time and effort to dine at this restaurant. The convenience of reservations just aren't worth it! Tin Top is far from Tip Top!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I went here for my birthday dinner with about 8 of my friends. We ordered and it was about an hour and a half before we got our food, some of ours was cold too. I had the pecan encrusted grouper, sounds pretty good right? I took my first bite into and all I could taste was this awful salty/ fishy taste that you would expect to taste at a sketchy fish market. The waitress asked if I wanted another one, but I declined, after all it took almost two hours for this one. I haven't been back since that experience. It's overpriced for food that it is not up to par. Try somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Crab Claws & Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

They have moved to a really nice building downtown which is much nicer than the old place.

My wife & I had dinner with our baby boy. We ordered the marinated crab claws for an appetizer. They were out if this world.

The fried oysters where also outstanding. They are large light batter & very fresh.

The seafood gumbo is full if sausage & shrimp.

They best oysters & crab claws I have ever had.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.