We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had tried Tin Top sooner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar

Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar
2330 4th St, The Shops at Lake Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa, AL
205-462-3399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 239 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The Tin Top in Tuscaloosa, AL opened in August 2010. It's the 2nd Tin Top. The first is in Bon Secour, AL and opened around 2004. Both are excellent!
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wish we had tried Tin Top sooner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Tin Top is in a small shopping center (Shops of North River) out of town near the lake. We shop there often for groceries but never tried Tin Top until last night. WOW. Our food was fabulous. We were there early so we were seated immediately. Our server was excellent. Took our order right away. The food took a while to make it to the table but it was definitely worth the wait.

I had the King Salmon along with Gouda Grits and Friend Green Tomatoes. The salmon was HUGE and cooked to perfection, there was plenty to share with my husband. The sauce was spicy and complimented the fish perfectly. This southern girl knows good fried green tomatoes when she has them and these were some of the best. Not greasy at all, great breading on them. LOVED THEM! The Gouda grits were good, I will agree with a previous reviewer that they were heavy on the pepper but very good nonetheless.

My husband had the ribeye. I tasted it and it had a wonderful flavor. He commented on how much he enjoyed the steak and he too had the fried green tomatoes. We finished the meal with the creme brulee. It was good but not great. Heavy on the flavor of amaretto and not as smooth and lite as we like. Overall, we think we may have found our new favorite restaurant in Tuscaloosa. The prices are comparable to other seafood restaurants in Tuscaloosa. The two of us ate a simply wonderful meal for just over $50. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not bad but a bit pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The selection of food is good however the prices are high and service is slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Never received my food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Granted we were a group is 12, but 3 of us never got our food after being therefor about 1 1/2 hours. The waiter came by and asked if there was anything else we needed and we told him 3 of us still didn't have our food and I only ordered steamed shrimp. That was my second and last time to go to Tin Top In Tuscaloosa. The first time I only got part of my meal. For the price and service, it just isn't worth it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, but definitely overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Tin Top in Tuscaloosa 3 times, and each experience was the same. The food is very tasty, although not exactly fine dining (lots of fried seafood, baked oysters etc.) Normally I like that type of food and, again, the food here is not the problem.

The problem is when you take a very good beachside restaurant from South Alabama and plant a sister restaurant in a strip center development in Tuscaloosa, AL, you lose the whole flavor of what makes the original a good place. Add on top that you are still charging beachside prices and you end up with a mediocre dining experience with good seafood that is WAY overpriced for this area. If you want good fried seafood in Tuscaloosa go to Wintzell's instead. The food as about the same, but at least you get a view of the river instead of a parking lot and the cost will be between a third to half lower.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Seafood and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The seafood here rivals restuarants found on the coast. The prices aren't terrible but enough to keep me from going too often. I've only been once but the whole group enjoyed it.

I plan to go here for my next "big occasion" dinner.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 

Been to Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Top Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.