We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Skyland Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Totally impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I found this hotel online for a bargain! I can't believe how nice it is! To put it simply this hotel costs less than a motel * but has the feel of a H:&@$!? Inn. We are only passing through but I would stay here again no question!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
19
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The room was clean and inexpensive (we booked online). I guess since it is so inexpensive they do not have the "service" of other hotels, when we called to the front desk to ask for some TP we were told to come down to get it, not in a nasty way, but mater-of-fact. Also, our view was of the awning in front of the hotel, which has us laughing every time we talk about it or see the pictures. Overall, because it is clean and close to my cousin's home we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

the hotel is new,absolutely clean and absolutely recommendable.....yet : there s no coffee in the lobby, there s no coffee in the room, there s no paper for the printer in the business center, you have to pay for it,sighs, the heating was turned off in the corridors, and the general atmosphere was cold. No sign of the well known southern hospitality . If you travel for leisure you d' expect some sign of human presence.... Lobby closes at night , continental breakfast is average to good. if you want a safe and spotless place to spend a nite this is the place, if you need a coffee or a newspaper take them from home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

checking my child in U.A.. was told they only had suites available. Paid $127 (tax included) for what we were told was a suite with seperate room. came to find out it was a standard size room with a love seat style couch that pulled out into a bed(no additional room or space). felt very mislead on price and value of hotel. unlikely to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was a get away weekend for my husband for father's day with another couple. We were very please with our rooms and rates. I look forward to making this a annual event. Continential breakfast was to the point and it had everything but a shower cap.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

As reflected in the other reviews, the property is new and clean. Bathroom was large, as was our king bed room. Front desk service was fine.
Two negatives for us: The walls are thin - we could hear everything going on in the room next to us. Fortunately our room was the last one in one in the hall next to the staircase, so we had noise on only one wall. Second negative is the very unattractive location. Nothing really in walking distance unless you want a used car or need to check out a storage rental facility.
The continental breakfast is very spare. To be fair, there are plenty of shopping and dining choices a mile or so away but, after a long day driving, we were hoping to walk to a nearby restaurant. Fine for one night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Found this hotel with one of those border coupon books and we are glad we did. The hotel is brand new and sparkling and the rate was just $49 a night. Hotel had free internet, 32in LCD TV in room, microwave and frig in room. Quiet location a little bit off the beaten track.

Only knock on the stay was the complimentary breakfast was a bit meager. Otherwise I recommend the hotel 100%.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 230 Skyland Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.