We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Skyland Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Ambassador Inn over a football/family weekend. We found the room clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice. I gave this place 4 stars as it was very acceptable, However, our clock radio was broken, and there was a deficit in parking at the hotel when the hotel is at capacity. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were not great. We were so tired though so it did not really matter. Breakfast is adequate, the coffee very good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
19
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a great stay! We are traveling back to Pennsylvania from New Orleans. We have a big moving truck with a trailer and needed a bed to sleep in for a bit. What a great surprise, this place was so nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our large parking needs. The continental breakfast was great (loved making my own Belgium waffles) and the room was super clean. It was easy to get to from the highway and easy to get back. Perfect stay for our purposes. Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This all started out pretty innocently. I searched Google for Tuscaloosa hotels and was led to a website for the Ambassador Inn and Suites. I clicked a very prominent button on the home page for booking and selected 2 nights at $50 per night. I considered that about right for an independent hotel with no pool and no hot breakfast.

As it turned out I had unwittingly booked at an Ambassador hotel in Lafayette Louisiana. As I found out later that is the only one of the two Ambassador hotels that has online booking. So even though I was at a website for the Tuscaloosa Ambassador the online booking defaulted to Lafayette.

I found this out right before checking in. When I spoke to the desk clerk in Lafayette she sounded like someone with a 2nd grade education and simply had no intention of helping. She just said I would be charged automatically for both nights. The desk cleark in Tuscaloosa said she could get me in there but for around twice the price. Being low on options at the time I took the deal.

Long story short I wound up paying $318 for two nights instead of $112. Keep in mind that this is a very basic economy hotel.

I have filed a dispute with my bank for the difference.

I hope the extra money they pocketed is worth it to them. Because, in my opinion, you should click away from this hotel as fast as you can and book with a chain with a good track record of solving guest problems.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked at this hotel online and when we arrived in Tuscaloosa we found out that our reservation had been made at a hotel in Louisiana, who charged us for the first night since we found out after 6 p.m. Then this hotel told us they would not honor the online price and we could have to pay the current going rate. We were also told that this hotel doesn't even have online reservations. So beware when you made your reservations online and check your email confirmation carefully. The lady at the front desk told us this had happened many times. Other than that (hah!) this is an okay little hotel, though a little off the beaten track and no pool.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and I could really hear the people upstairs walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have stayed in several hotels in Tuscaloosa. They are very difficult to secure during football season, so sometimes we have to settle. The Ambassador Inn & Suites is somewhere in the middle. It was clean, that is our biggest demand. It is not super convenient to campus and the main streets. They do not send an email confirmation, which made me nervous, but they did call and personally confirm 2 days before our stay. I also have called to make sure they have us on the books.
I would suggest requesting a room on the 3rd floor. This stay we were on the 2nd across from the elevator and the laundry room. We could hear laundry (shoes I am guessing) clunking around in the dryer until midnight.
We will be staying there again for a game, as it was the only place available 6 months out!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has laundry room which can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, ND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Room was nice, all was clean, but we did have a few minor issues. We couldn't find the remote (it was on top of the headboard). We were asked to return the luggage cart which we'd never used several hours after we checked in so like 9 or 10pm call. At 4am we were given a wake up call we didn't ask for nor did we want. I have to give the property only an average because security. All rooms are interior, but the outside door was never locked. It easily stayed open after someone walked through it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

First of all there were several lights burned out in our room, which were never replaced, the microwave did not work, and there was dried feces inside and outside of the toilet running down the side. The bottom of the toilet and floor around it had hair, dust, and dried urine.

The hot tub smelled putrid.

Winston was very nice, but he was only the front desk person; we were tired and did not want to change rooms, because we had been traveling all day and were very tired by he time we discovered the feces; they never offered to send anyone up to clean the toilet or replace the bulbs. The manager never returned our call that evening.

They took $20 off our room but if I had not have had a bottle of rubbing alcohol with me for disinfecting, even the $20 would not have been worth staying in that room.

They did give us $20 off the room, but if I hadn

Room Tip: Don't stay there. Winston and the lady who prepared breakfasts were the only two positive things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 230 Skyland Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.