We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Skyland Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Jackson MS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our room had five lamps and good lighting in the foyer and the bathroom - much better lighting than what we usually see in hotels. The bed had a nice assortment of pillows - not all super stuffed like we normally find. When you first sit on one of the beds, you might say "uh oh!" because it seems to be a hard ridge around the edge of the bed and a squashy middle. Nevertheless, we thought the bed slept very well. If you need a very firm mattress you probably wouldn't like it. I don't know about other room doors but we always had to pull hard and slam to get ours to lock when we were going out. The shower has what is supposed to be anti-slip strips but an older traveler would still want to be careful getting in and out of the shower.

We thought the breakfast area was nice and clean - it has a sink, too - makes perfect sense to me but you don't find that in all hotel breakfast areas. Laundry area is nice, parking is very convenient to use and all the staff members we met were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
19
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida Panhandle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. Overall was happy. rooms clean, spacious, refrig/micro and staff was friendly. Good hotels in Tuscaloosa are very limited. Most everything is budget. The Ambassador is a nice new addition. However, they are a new mini chain, and they need to focus.
Here are my suggestions for improvement.
1) Business center. Ok, there is one computer. That's ok, but there is only 1 chair. Buy another $59 office supply store chair, please? Hotel has tacky signs up like "You break You buy" if you sit on the desk. Well, think about it hotel, why are people sitting on the counter - because there is not a second chair ! Many couples check their email together. Solution is so easy. Also would be nice place for people to use their notebook computer in lobby, because otherwise there is no table to put it on.
2) Breakfast center. Poor design. Most new hotels make this a side area off the lobby that is open all the time. Then they have locking cabinets below where the staff stashes all the breakfast items after breakfast. Instead this hotel chooses to cram it in a small room and lock the room except during breakfast hours. Many times, one guest in the party wants to take a nap, so it is nice to be able to go down to lobby and sit in breakfast area and do some work on notebook computer (to hotels credit, they did nicely open the breakfast area for me on request - maybe they can't trust their guests? It was not like I was gonna steal some Frosted Flakes.
3) Breakfast. Get some proteins. Breakfast was all carbs. Eggs and/or Yogurt would have been nice, and are not that expensive.
4) Lobby Closed 1030pm-630am, even to hotel guests.

Maybe I am being too critical,but I think this hotel has potential, they just need to make a few easy changes (mainly buy a second business center chair and keep the breakfast center open 24 hours and just lock up the breakfast items)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have stayed here every year since they opened. The room is always clean the staff is friendly. Since there is no bar or restaurant on site, it is a nice, quiet place to rest. However the are many restaurants close by (every thing from McDonalds to Lone Star). I have stayed in some high end hotels in Tuscaloosa, but they are only more expensive and not any nicer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Clean, conveniently located. Great price. Only down was they had on their Alziers or whatever News channel. This is the US

Room Tip: Use coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is very well kept. The bedding, carpet and rooms in general are just fine. Internet CAT5 in every room it appears, WIFI is present, but I use a cable most of the time. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was there for those who want it.

If you are sensitive to perfumes, you may want to seek a room elsewhere. The cleaning staff it appears, is using a LOT of coverup spray or scent in the rooms. It may be way too overpowering for some people. It was borderline for me even. Im not sure why they are doing this in non-smoking room. I will make note of it on the way out to the staff so they know they are going overboard with it during cleaning. If this was not an issue for me, this would be a 4 star rating as everything else is great.

If the scent in the rooms is not an issue for you, dont hesitate to stay here. Hopefully the cleaning staff backs off on the perfume!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsing, Idaho
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were there for graduation on 5 August 2011. The hotel was clean, but way overpriced for a two star hotel. The breakfast room was tiny and choices sparse. It was extremely quiet which is a real plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Both of my daughters attend the University of Alabama, so we travel there several times each year. We found this hotel in 2009 when our other regular hotel was booked up. This one is much more convenient on game day, because you don't have to deal with the traffic on McFarland Blvd. It's also more convenient to the Tutwiler/Sorority Row/Stadium side of the campus. The rooms are clean and spacious. They only provide one pack of "shampoo/conditioner", but I always pack my own shampoo. The breakfast is okay if you get there early, but by 8:30, there is not much left. The manager has always been very helpful to us. They will provide extra towels if you ask.

Room Tip: The rooms all have a small refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 230 Skyland Boulevard, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.