We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice extended stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Tuscaloosa

Save Saved
You added Value Place Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Value Place Tuscaloosa
4600 Doris Pate Drive, I-20/59 & Skyland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Wales Center, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice extended stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

i was hear eight months nice tv, staff was great brittany is the greatest. nice to have a full size fridge and, the two burner stove is also great. the beds are firm. i had a little trouble with the doors. laundry on site open twenty four hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    0
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
1
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant stay. Everyone was quite helpful, especially Brittney at the front desk.
Internet is slow at times, though the service and price makes for such a slight transgression. It is still usable most time throughout the day.
I would highly recommend this establishment to family and friends.
Had absolutely no problems during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I am student and needed somewhere to stay for my short, 1-month summer session at UA. It can be complicated subleasing an apartment or making arrangements for only one month, so I appreciated staying here because there were no strings attached. The staff was very friendly, and had no problems getting any of my requests filled. It is a quiet place, perfect for studying, and has all the necessary amenities for an extended stay. It is a great place to stay if you are looking for something cheap and conveniently close to UA campus.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 2nd floor near the stairs, and it was a really convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on being a home away from home. I hope that you will stay with us again if you ever come back to visit UA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Alabama, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have really enjoyed my stay at Value Place in Tuscaloosa. It was very clean and presentable for the affordable price and location. All employees were nice and presentable when assistance was needed. I would recommend anyone to stay here if they need a great place for a decent price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will stay with us again soon and enjoy the new beds and TVs that will arrive in the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I came into town for an Alabama football game, thinking it would be no problem to get a room in Tuscaloosa. No dice. Value Place was the only place (worth a second look) with any vacancies. I had never stayed at any extended stay facility, but I was game. The room had a full kitchen in it! The full size fridge was awesome...kept our tailgating supplies nice and cold. The staff was great, very helpful! Even gave me an alternate route to campus to avoid the painful gameday traffic. I will definitely stay with them again. I do wish they had wifi, but I can live without it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you come to see the Crimson Tide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I rented 2 rooms at the Tuscaloosa Value Place in early July of 2012. My employees stayed in these two rooms until we checked out the first week of August 2012. I was a happy customer until I realized Value Place continued to charge my credit card without authorization for nearly a month before I caught it. When I disputed the charge, they only refunded 2 weeks and refused to refund the security deposit. I disputed the charge through my Discover Card, and finally got a credit for the deposit. I am sueing Value Place for the $1,149.36 charged to my credit card even though I was not at the Hotel and had checked out. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Value Place requires guests to give a 24 hour check out notice before they leave. In this instance, we did not receive notice of check-out and personal items were left in the room, so we were not aware the guests had left. Also, the security deposit is refunded to the guest if the room is left in good condition. Value Place refunded this guest for two weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I chose Value Place because it was cheaper to stay for a week. But at that price you can not expect to have everything you have at a hotel, and you have to bring your soap, towels, cooking supplies, and dishes. The internet costs $10, is broadband and you have to bring your own ethernet cord. The cable seems to not have ABC and FOX. The staff is helpful and nice. It is close to pretty much everything in Tuscaloosa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Value Place Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Tuscaloosa

Address: 4600 Doris Pate Drive, I-20/59 & Skyland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place is an extended stay hotel that meets every life traveler’s need for affordable, clean and secure, temporary lodging with our remarkably low weekly rates, rigorous cleanliness standards, total commitment to your comfort, privacy and peace of mind, and our just-right simplicity. Whether you’re traveling on business, pleasure, relocation, or just looking for a temporary base camp on your life’s journey, Value Place is your place.Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. To maintain a consistent guest experience at all of our properties we do have a No Pet Policy, except for service animals. Then we’ll show you to your guest room. It’s that easy. What to expect in your room Although Value Place offers several room choices, the essential features stay the same. You can always count on a simple but fully furnished studio with a kitchen that includes a full size refrigerator and freezer, a microwave, a two-burner stovetop and plenty of cabinet space. You’ll also find two drinking cups, a trash bag, a roll of bathroom tissue and a bar of soap to get you started—because at Value Place, we figure you’d rather shop on your own terms than pay for extras you may not need. If you do want to take advantage of the additional amenities and services we offer—from kitchen cookware to high-speed Internet—they’re available anytime for your convenience for a minimal fee. There’s only one thing guests never seem to be completely prepared for—how astonishingly clean our rooms are. What to expect in and around our building All Value Place properties are newly constructed from the ground up and electronically locked 24/7. That means no one can access our interior-corridor entrances without a valid key card. (No exterior room doors here like at most discount hotels or extended stay motels.) Featuring at least eight cameras and a very well lit parking lot, we keep your safety in and out of the building in mind. All public areas are cleaned daily—including our well-lit parking lot. Beyond our commitment to cleanliness and safety, we also offer vending machines and an onsite laundry room for your convenience. What to expect from our team You won’t find a friendlier team anywhere. Our helpful staff—from Studio Attendants to the Property Manager—will make sure your guest experience is a positive one, whether you need something for your room or directions to the closest car repair shop. At Value Place, you can expect courteous treatment from professionals who are committed to maintaining guest privacy and peace of mind. In fact, some team members live onsite to uphold our rigorous cleaning and safety standards. What to expect at every Value Place When it comes to Value Place, you don’t have to compete with anyone for that perfect apartment or hunt for the best hotel deal in town—we’re always the better choice. At your typical extended stay motel, discount hotel or other short-term housing solution, guests have to give up something that really matters. Not here. At Value Place you will always receive an affordable price in a Cleaner, Safer, Simpler, and Flexible property. We’re about living better through better value. And that makes us the smarter choice. Best of all? We promise a consistently positive guest experience at every Value Place you visit. Explore Value Place locations or make a reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Value Place Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.