We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Too Bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Tuscaloosa

Save Saved
You added Value Place Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Value Place Tuscaloosa
4600 Doris Pate Drive, I-20/59 & Skyland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Too Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I checked in on a Wednesday and have had a good experience. I stayed on the 2nd floor. The staff is very helpful and nice. My only dislike was that the room above me has children or someone that's up running and walking very hard every morning and all that running and stomping wake me every morning. I work at night and so I'm sleep in the morning. So when they get up it's like they're about to come through the ceiling on top of me. Other than that it's a good place to stay for a short period of time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    0
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
1
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I checked in last Sunday late and the staff was helpful. I had a room on the 4th floor with no real issues. For the price I got more than expected, it was not a bad stay.I even had a few request and there was no problem from the staff in helping me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

this is a nice motel for the money u want find nothing else that can compare to it the staff is good. they get u stuff when u need it. i will recommend this place to any one. the only bad thing i can say is. i wish they cleaned the room every day. but if u are a clean person u really ant got to worry about it.

Room Tip: the tip is stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Well, first of all, home is in Traverse City, MI, but I travel all the time because I drive an 18-wheeler. When I left MI, I was sick with the flu, and by the time I made my delivery in Birmingham, I was past ready to park my truck and stay in a motel somewhere to try to recooperate...there are very few motels with truck parking, but found that I could park right next to the Value Place. When I checked in, the staff was so very helpful in making my stay as comfortable as they could. They took me to a room to let me see if I liked it or not and if I could see my truck from the window. I was very satisfied and checked in for the week. It has been so quiet here that sometimes I have to check to see if I am the only one here or not. Quiet is what I need to rest. Laundry facilities are a must for truck drivers....they have that too! I am very glad that I chose to stay here and will recomend it to others. The overall price saved me alot of money compared to what I would have paid for single nights anywhere else. Thanks staff...you all are great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for a week and wasnt aware they supply NOTHING!!!!! You have to buy all your cooking utensils all your pans and anything else you may need. they supply you with two towels and two washcloths after that you have to pay a fee to get them. Want internet be prepared to pay for it, you have to supply your own ethernet cord. The mattress is setting on plywood it is HARD HARD HARD>>>> The tv is about 20 inches and you get about 10 channels . Just be aware it gets pricey for what your are getting... Plus the hotel smells musty. They only clean your room once a week so good Luck

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Many of our guests stay at Value Place because of the affordability, cleanliness, and safety we provide. At Value Place, we figure you'd rather shop on your own terms than pay for extras you may not need. We are able to keep our weekly rates low by not padding extras into our price and letting our guests pick and choose the amenities they want to purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I chose to stay at Value Place in Tuscaloosa when I was in between leases. I planned to stay a week but will be leaving after one day due to the other guests staying here. I will start with the beginning of my not so lovely experience, I walk in to find a rude staff and terrible smell. The whole place smells like smoke. I have met multiple drug users and even a few prostitutes. I would highly recommend living in a box on the highway before staying here. Save your money and book somewhere a little nicer because you will end up wasting money and time finding a new place once you discover how disgusting the place is. I understand that it is a low budget hotel, but I did not expect this level of trashy disgustingness. Please do yourself a favor and choose Holiday Inn or a Marriott. The people are scary and this is not a safe place, although the desk lady assured me it was. If you enjoy the smell of cigarettes and the company of drug addicts then this is the place for you. If not, please stay somewhere else. This is the worst hotel experience of my life and I completely regret ever making a reservation here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I attempted to stay at the Tuscaloosa Value Place this past Sunday (May 27). We were going to stay there for a couple of weeks until our apartment was ready. We arrived at 4:15 and the check-in process took forever. We had somewhere to be at 5, and we were finally able to get to our room at 4:40... When we walked into our room, there were cockroaches, yes cockroaches everywhere. Most of them were dead, some were still alive. When we went to the office to demand a different room or a refund, we were given a room 4 rooms down the hall! We had to leave (at this point we were already late), and were going to try to make it work. We arrived back to the hotel at 8:30 pm and told the employee on duty that we were leaving and wanted a refund. We were told we'd have to come back Monday at 9 am to speak with the manager. This employee also said that management was aware that they had been having cockroach problems on the second floor.... When we came back Monday at 9, the manager had called out, so they told us to come back at 11. When we arrived at 11 the manager told us that the district manager was able to SPECIAL APPROVE a partial refund, all but one night's worth. Their normal policy is NO REFUNDS. So unless you enjoy wasting your money and having cockroaches crawl on you, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Go just a couple exits up the interstate. There's lots of hotels there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Place Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Tuscaloosa

Address: 4600 Doris Pate Drive, I-20/59 & Skyland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place is an extended stay hotel that meets every life traveler’s need for affordable, clean and secure, temporary lodging with our remarkably low weekly rates, rigorous cleanliness standards, total commitment to your comfort, privacy and peace of mind, and our just-right simplicity. Whether you’re traveling on business, pleasure, relocation, or just looking for a temporary base camp on your life’s journey, Value Place is your place.Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. To maintain a consistent guest experience at all of our properties we do have a No Pet Policy, except for service animals. Then we’ll show you to your guest room. It’s that easy. What to expect in your room Although Value Place offers several room choices, the essential features stay the same. You can always count on a simple but fully furnished studio with a kitchen that includes a full size refrigerator and freezer, a microwave, a two-burner stovetop and plenty of cabinet space. You’ll also find two drinking cups, a trash bag, a roll of bathroom tissue and a bar of soap to get you started—because at Value Place, we figure you’d rather shop on your own terms than pay for extras you may not need. If you do want to take advantage of the additional amenities and services we offer—from kitchen cookware to high-speed Internet—they’re available anytime for your convenience for a minimal fee. There’s only one thing guests never seem to be completely prepared for—how astonishingly clean our rooms are. What to expect in and around our building All Value Place properties are newly constructed from the ground up and electronically locked 24/7. That means no one can access our interior-corridor entrances without a valid key card. (No exterior room doors here like at most discount hotels or extended stay motels.) Featuring at least eight cameras and a very well lit parking lot, we keep your safety in and out of the building in mind. All public areas are cleaned daily—including our well-lit parking lot. Beyond our commitment to cleanliness and safety, we also offer vending machines and an onsite laundry room for your convenience. What to expect from our team You won’t find a friendlier team anywhere. Our helpful staff—from Studio Attendants to the Property Manager—will make sure your guest experience is a positive one, whether you need something for your room or directions to the closest car repair shop. At Value Place, you can expect courteous treatment from professionals who are committed to maintaining guest privacy and peace of mind. In fact, some team members live onsite to uphold our rigorous cleaning and safety standards. What to expect at every Value Place When it comes to Value Place, you don’t have to compete with anyone for that perfect apartment or hunt for the best hotel deal in town—we’re always the better choice. At your typical extended stay motel, discount hotel or other short-term housing solution, guests have to give up something that really matters. Not here. At Value Place you will always receive an affordable price in a Cleaner, Safer, Simpler, and Flexible property. We’re about living better through better value. And that makes us the smarter choice. Best of all? We promise a consistently positive guest experience at every Value Place you visit. Explore Value Place locations or make a reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Value Place Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.