We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will cost you more in the long run” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Tuscaloosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tuscaloosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Value Place Tuscaloosa
Save
You added Value Place Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
4600 Doris Pate Drive, I-20/59 & Skyland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
1 review
“It will cost you more in the long run”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for a week and wasnt aware they supply NOTHING!!!!! You have to buy all your cooking utensils all your pans and anything else you may need. they supply you with two towels and two washcloths after that you have to pay a fee to get them. Want internet be prepared to pay for it, you have to supply your own ethernet cord. The mattress is setting on plywood it is HARD HARD HARD>>>> The tv is about 20 inches and you get about 10 channels . Just be aware it gets pricey for what your are getting... Plus the hotel smells musty. They only clean your room once a week so good Luck

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Many of our guests stay at Value Place because of the affordability, cleanliness, and safety we provide. At Value Place, we figure you'd rather shop on your own terms than pay for extras you may not need. We are able to keep our weekly rates low by not padding extras into our price and letting our guests pick and choose the amenities they want to purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    0
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
1
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I chose to stay at Value Place in Tuscaloosa when I was in between leases. I planned to stay a week but will be leaving after one day due to the other guests staying here. I will start with the beginning of my not so lovely experience, I walk in to find a rude staff and terrible smell. The whole place smells like smoke. I have met multiple drug users and even a few prostitutes. I would highly recommend living in a box on the highway before staying here. Save your money and book somewhere a little nicer because you will end up wasting money and time finding a new place once you discover how disgusting the place is. I understand that it is a low budget hotel, but I did not expect this level of trashy disgustingness. Please do yourself a favor and choose Holiday Inn or a Marriott. The people are scary and this is not a safe place, although the desk lady assured me it was. If you enjoy the smell of cigarettes and the company of drug addicts then this is the place for you. If not, please stay somewhere else. This is the worst hotel experience of my life and I completely regret ever making a reservation here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I attempted to stay at the Tuscaloosa Value Place this past Sunday (May 27). We were going to stay there for a couple of weeks until our apartment was ready. We arrived at 4:15 and the check-in process took forever. We had somewhere to be at 5, and we were finally able to get to our room at 4:40... When we walked into our room, there were cockroaches, yes cockroaches everywhere. Most of them were dead, some were still alive. When we went to the office to demand a different room or a refund, we were given a room 4 rooms down the hall! We had to leave (at this point we were already late), and were going to try to make it work. We arrived back to the hotel at 8:30 pm and told the employee on duty that we were leaving and wanted a refund. We were told we'd have to come back Monday at 9 am to speak with the manager. This employee also said that management was aware that they had been having cockroach problems on the second floor.... When we came back Monday at 9, the manager had called out, so they told us to come back at 11. When we arrived at 11 the manager told us that the district manager was able to SPECIAL APPROVE a partial refund, all but one night's worth. Their normal policy is NO REFUNDS. So unless you enjoy wasting your money and having cockroaches crawl on you, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Go just a couple exits up the interstate. There's lots of hotels there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Harley ever anyone at front desk. Took 24 hours to get new towels. Office hours are worse then a banks not even open on Sunday's. Charge fees for almost anything including if you get locked out of room. Beds were hard and frame was made out of plywood that I could have made at my house . Worst of all there is a 100 dollar deposit i was not told about till I got there that they said they would refund to my credit card it has been almost 2 weeks and still haven't got money back . Do not stay here I know it's cheap but I would rather sleep under a bridge .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I just returned home this afternoon from this awful place. Haven't even unpacked yet, because logging in this review is THAT important to me.
Discovered Value Place and booked it online with Orbitz, having never heard of the hotel....but it was the only one available on a BUSY Alabama Homecoming weekend in Tuscaloosa. Arrived late Friday night after an exhaustingly long roadtrip, ready to get to my room and go to bed (FYI, Value Place is on a service road that's challenging to reach, off Skyland Blvd. Be warned.....it's on the same service road as Cracker Barrel, but was "weird" to try and find...). Check-in took 40 minutes!!! FORTY MINUTES!!! They were overbooked, and the staffer feebly attempted to explain how I would always need to check with Orbitz before arriving at Value Place, blah-blah-blah. WHAT??? Another guest came in twenty minutes after me, and it was the same "drill" with him. Unbelievable. The staffer kept calling "management" at home for the how-to on what to do with us. She was clearly overwhelmed, and didn't know how to troubleshoot. At one point, she was about to cry.....she was REALLY panicked. Meanwhile, a guest came to the desk needing towels....it was his second request, and he was not happy. The staffer requested a $100 dollar "deposit" (what kind of short-term stay hotel does THAT??), assuring me that it would be credited back to my credit card on Monday (tomorrow). Such a deposit wasn't indicated on my Orbitz contract. Believe me, I'll be calling my cc company tomorrow to double-check that credit. The hotel is an extended stay business model, yet apparently are tapping into the lucrative college gameday weekend market.....only the hotel isn't EQUIPPED for the needs of short-term weekend guests. A very apparent lack of staffing. No hairdryers (usually standard) in any room.....while I was checking in, saw two women who had made a late-night Wal-Mart run to buy one. They were livid. In the elevator, we agreed to contact TripAdvisor when we respectively returned to our homes. The towels were of such poor quality, that after bathing/showering, actual cloth fibers would rub off onto our skin and stick....getting in our eyes, in our hair.....it was insane. The sleeper sofa was "shrink-wrapped" in plastic, and squeaked every time we moved on the mattress. Thankfully, we'd brought air mattresses and our own linens from home (used on an earlier leg of our trip), and slept on those more comfortably. NO extra toilet paper. The T.V. remote didn't work, so we watched CNN the whole time we were in the room. I will NEVER NEVER return to this place. I'd rather buy a tent and camp out......and I'm not even a camper.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Checked in on a Sunday. No one at the front desk, call the number in the lobby. Clerk came and acted as though she was doing me a favor. They never check to see if I wanted smoking or non-smoking... got to the room and it smelled like an ash tray. Changed rooms the next day, the new room had no pillows and no shower curtain. Told the lady at the front desk... her response? You'll need to take those from your old room! Give me a break... I couldn't believe it! ABSOLUTELY NOT RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Place Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Tuscaloosa

Address: 4600 Doris Pate Drive, I-20/59 & Skyland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place is an extended stay hotel that meets every life traveler’s need for affordable, clean and secure, temporary lodging with our remarkably low weekly rates, rigorous cleanliness standards, total commitment to your comfort, privacy and peace of mind, and our just-right simplicity. Whether you’re traveling on business, pleasure, relocation, or just looking for a temporary base camp on your life’s journey, Value Place is your place.Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. To maintain a consistent guest experience at all of our properties we do have a No Pet Policy, except for service animals. Then we’ll show you to your guest room. It’s that easy. What to expect in your room Although Value Place offers several room choices, the essential features stay the same. You can always count on a simple but fully furnished studio with a kitchen that includes a full size refrigerator and freezer, a microwave, a two-burner stovetop and plenty of cabinet space. You’ll also find two drinking cups, a trash bag, a roll of bathroom tissue and a bar of soap to get you started—because at Value Place, we figure you’d rather shop on your own terms than pay for extras you may not need. If you do want to take advantage of the additional amenities and services we offer—from kitchen cookware to high-speed Internet—they’re available anytime for your convenience for a minimal fee. There’s only one thing guests never seem to be completely prepared for—how astonishingly clean our rooms are. What to expect in and around our building All Value Place properties are newly constructed from the ground up and electronically locked 24/7. That means no one can access our interior-corridor entrances without a valid key card. (No exterior room doors here like at most discount hotels or extended stay motels.) Featuring at least eight cameras and a very well lit parking lot, we keep your safety in and out of the building in mind. All public areas are cleaned daily—including our well-lit parking lot. Beyond our commitment to cleanliness and safety, we also offer vending machines and an onsite laundry room for your convenience. What to expect from our team You won’t find a friendlier team anywhere. Our helpful staff—from Studio Attendants to the Property Manager—will make sure your guest experience is a positive one, whether you need something for your room or directions to the closest car repair shop. At Value Place, you can expect courteous treatment from professionals who are committed to maintaining guest privacy and peace of mind. In fact, some team members live onsite to uphold our rigorous cleaning and safety standards. What to expect at every Value Place When it comes to Value Place, you don’t have to compete with anyone for that perfect apartment or hunt for the best hotel deal in town—we’re always the better choice. At your typical extended stay motel, discount hotel or other short-term housing solution, guests have to give up something that really matters. Not here. At Value Place you will always receive an affordable price in a Cleaner, Safer, Simpler, and Flexible property. We’re about living better through better value. And that makes us the smarter choice. Best of all? We promise a consistently positive guest experience at every Value Place you visit. Explore Value Place locations or make a reservation today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.